ILA E-Newsletter

Karen Stott Bersche Inducted as an Illinois Library Luminary
July 26, 2018
Karen Stott Bersche, of Bloomington, Illinois, served on the Reaching Across Illinois Library System Board (2011-2016) and the Illinois State Library Advisory Committee (2015-18) during her 35-year library career. She was a member of the State Board …
Applications Open for Annual Conference Internship
June 24, 2018
The 2018 ILA Annual Conference Program Committee is seeking interns for the conference, which will be held in Peoria, October 9-11. Conference interns will complete four hours of work at the registration desk, as assigned prior to the conference…
Leading With Purpose Preconference
June 15, 2018
People who care about their leadership development rightly spend much of their time improving how they lead others. The Leading with Purpose Preconference to the ILA Annual Conference will explore a related yet very different area…
Resources & Technical Services Forum Scholarship
May 30, 2018
The ILA Resources and Technical Services Forum has established a scholarship to offset registration, travel and lodging fees for one technical services staff member who would not otherwise be able to attend the ILA Annual Conference, not to exceed $1…
Gene Luen Yang to Keynote #ILAAC18
May 25, 2018
Gene Luen Yang will present the keynote address, Reading Without Walls, at the 2018 ILA Annual Conference on Tuesday, October 9, at the Peoria Civic Center. Yang was the 2016-17 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature and a 2…
ILA Election Results
May 9, 2018
PRESIDENT-ELECT (three-year term beginning July 1, 2018–June 30, 2021) Molly Beestrum, Columbia College, Chicago - ElectedCathy Mayer, Trinity Christian College, Palos Heights  BOARD OF DIRECTORS (three-year term beginning J…
Register Now for Reaching Forward South
April 6, 2018
The 2018 Reaching Forward South Conference will be held May 11 at the Morris Center on the SIUE campus. With a commitment to providing quality training and information, Reaching Forward South strives to be the premier professional development opportu…
Bob Doyle Receives 2018 Eli M. Oboler Award
March 22, 2018
The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) of the American Library Association (ALA) has awarded the 2018 Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award, which recognizes the best published work in the area of intellectual freedom, to Robert P. Doyle f…
LBSS Readers' Choice Grants Available
March 9, 2018
The Illinois School Library Media Association/Library Book Selection Service Endowment Fund announces its 2018-2019 Readers’ Choice Grant.  Private and public schools along with public libraries registered to participate in any of the 2018…
ILA Election Opens April 1
March 8, 2018
The polls for the 2018 ILA election will open online April 1, 2018 and close on April 30, 2018. The candidates bios will be available on the ILA website a week prior to the polls opening. All personal members of the association are eli…
iREAD Summer Reading Programs

The 2019 iREAD theme, It's Showtime At Your Library Themed graphics and much more is here!

Visit the iREAD website »