Advocacy Committee


Making the Most of Your Legislative Meetup
October 18, 2023
First of all, thank you for going to an ILA Legislative Meetup! I know from experience that it was an informative and rewarding use of your, your staff’s, and your trustees’ time. The Legislative Meetups are a coordinated effort between I…
Committee Spotlight - Advocacy Committee
February 10, 2022
The first goal of the ILA Strategic Plan is Advocacy. We don’t think this is only an alphabetical coincidence. Advocacy is a cornerstone of ILA and for all libraries. Everyone loves the library, but we are easily overlooked. The Advocacy Commit…
Committee Spotlight - Advocacy Committee
November 21, 2019
Folks often think that ‘advocacy’ is just talking with elected officials when you need something. And since that’s the case, they don’t need to worry about it because their director or their Trustees or the ILA staff know…

More news »


  1. Jun 3 2024

    Advocacy Committee Meeting

    Monday, Jun 3, 2024 1:00pm

More events »

Committee Charge

  • Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
  • Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
  • Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
  • Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
  • Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
  • Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

The Advocacy Committee chair(s) serve(s) ex officio on ILA's Public Policy Committee.

Committee Composition

Composed of twelve voting members, serving three-year, staggered terms. Non-voting ex officio members are the ILA executive director, the director of the Illinois State Library, ILA president, ILA vice president/president-elect, and the chair of the Public Policy Committee.

Follow the Advocacy Committee's activities

  • View the ILA Advocacy Committee calendar for association-wide events and deadlines that guide the committee's work.
  • Access the Ready, Set, Advocate tool kit and video modules, designed as program-ready content for you to show and/or use for professional development opportunities and advocacy training events

Committee Reports, Agendas, and Minutes 

  1. Gail Graziani Gail Graziani, Co-chair Head of Resource Services at Indian Prairie Public Library District

    Co-chair Term ends 06/30/2024
    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  2. Amanda McKay Amanda McKay, Co-chair Effingham Public Library

    Co-chair Term ends 06/30/2025

  3. Betsy Adamowski Betsy Adamowski, Member Director at Wheaton Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  4. Sam Adams-Lanham Sam Adams-Lanham, Member Community Engagement Librarian at Barrington Area Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2025

  5. Joanna Bertucci Joanna Bertucci, Member Library Director at Park Ridge Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  6. Dennis Danowski Dennis Danowski, Member Macomb Public Library District

    Member Term ends 06/30/2025

  7. Monica Dombrowski Monica Dombrowski, Member Library Director at Winnetka-Northfield Public Library District

    Member Term ends 06/30/2026

  8. Nanette Donohue Nanette Donohue, Member Collections and Technical Services Manager at Champaign Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  9. Chris Houchens Chris Houchens, Member Director at Charleston Carnegie Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  10. Laura Kirk Laura Kirk, Member Library Assistant at Churchill Elementary School, Homewood SD153

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  11. Sara Murray Sara Murray, Member Executive Director at Algonquin Area Public Library District

    Member Term ends 06/30/2025

  12. Tim Prendergast Tim Prendergast, Member Director at Hodgkins Public Library District

    Member Term ends 06/30/2026

  13. Amy Byers Amy Byers, Ex officio Director at Chatham Area Public Library District

    Ex officio Term ends 06/30/2026

  14. Ryan Johnson Ryan Johnson, Ex officio Library Director at O'Fallon Public Library

    Ex officio Term ends 06/30/2025

  15. Greg McCormick Greg McCormick, Ex officio Director at Illinois State Library

    Ex officio Term ends 06/30/2025

  16. Kyla Waltermire Kyla Waltermire, Ex officio Executive Director at Mississippi Valley District Library

    Ex officio Term ends 06/30/2024

  17. Alex C. Todd Alex C. Todd, Board liaison Executive Director at Prospect Heights Public Library District

    Board liaison Term ends 06/30/2024

  18. Cyndi Robinson Cyndi Robinson, Staff liaison Executive Director at Illinois Library Association

    Staff liaison Term ends 06/30/2025

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »