Illinois Association of College & Research Libraries Forum (IACRL)


Chapter of Association of College & Research Libraries

IACRL is a chapter of the Association of College & Research Libraries

The Illinois Association of College and Research Libraries (IACRL) is a forum of the Illinois Library Association (ILA) and a chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). For the purposes of this forum, academic libraries include college, community, technical and junior colleges and university libraries as well as research libraries not affiliated with academic institutions.


Reminder: Applications for 2018 ACRL Scholarly Communications RoadShow Due Nov. 17
November 4, 2017
(via Chase Ollis, ACRL) Academic and research librarians increasingly recognize scholarly communication as a core competency of the profession. Whether helping researchers meet their funder’s mandates for public access and data sharing, guiding…
ILA 2017: Presentations and Posters Featuring Illinois Academic Librarians
October 9, 2017
Krista Bowers SharpeWestern Illinois University Note: Presenters whose names are in bold currently work at Illinois academic or research libraries. Tuesday, October 10  10:45 AM - 11:45 AM Re-Sourcing Your Resources: Working With What You H…
Dinner with (IACRL) Colleagues at ILA Annual Conference
October 6, 2017
(via Lindsay Harmon, IACRL President) Are you attending the ILA Annual Conference in Tinley Park? Join your academic library colleagues for dinner at 7:00 PM on Tuesday, October 10, at Gatto’s Italian Restaurant! Sign up here. Those w…

More news »


The mission of the IACRL is to promote the interests of academic libraries and the personnel of those libraries; to enhance the abilities of academic library personnel to identify and meet the information needs of current and potential library users; to develop and promote leadership to the academic library community.

Goals and objectives

  1. To contribute to the professional and career development of all academic library personnel
  2. To enhance the capabilities of Illinois libraries to serve the needs of their users
  3. To promote and speak for the interests of academic libraries
  4. To promote study, research and dissemination of information relevant to academic librarianship
  5. To promote and foster cooperation and communication among the members of IACRL, the academic community, and other organizations with common interests
  6. To support and protect intellectual freedom in academic libraries
  7. To honor the contribution of individuals who enhance academic libraries in Illinois

Become a member

All ILA members can become members of IACRL by updating your ILA forum preferences. Non-members of ILA can become members by checking the IACRL Forum box on the ILA membership application. Requests for applications can be made directly to ILA at or (312) 644-1896.

Mailing list

Keep in touch! Stay informed and join our listserv! The IACRL listserv is an unmoderated discussion group, consisting primarily of occasional announcements about IACRL and upcoming events.

To subscribe, unsubscribe, or update your information, please visit

To post a message to all list members, email You can also email with the word help in the subject or body for additional list maintenance options.

If you have questions, please contact list moderators Gwen Gregory ( or Eric Edwards (

IACRL job board

The IACRL Job Board has been superseded. For any further job announcements, please submit to ILA's JobLine or email for inclusion in a job digest to the IACRL listserv.


Our By-Laws were approved by the membership on October 27, 1997 and were amended on October 17, 2000, April 1, 2014, and October 8, 2009. View a full HTML version of the IACRL by-laws online.


  1. Carolyn Ciesla Carolyn Ciesla, President Prairie State College
  2. Eric Anthony Edwards Eric Anthony Edwards, President-Elect Interlibrary Loan Librarian at Illinois State Library
  3. Ariel Orlov Ariel Orlov, Secretary/Treasurer Manager of Library Services and Distance Education Librarian at Adler University
  4. Lindsay Harmon Lindsay Harmon, Past President Instruction & Outreach Librarian at Lewis University Library

Forum Leadership

  1. Reina Williams Reina Williams, Board liaison Librarian at Rush University Medical Center

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

The 2018 iREAD theme, Reading Takes You Everywhere! Themed graphics and much more is here!

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »