Awards Committee


Committee Spotlight - Awards Committee
August 25, 2022
You might have seen a listserv post encouraging you to nominate your colleagues for an ILA Award, or heard about the Awards Luncheon at the ILA Annual Conference. But how are the award winners chosen after they’re nominated? Allow us to introdu…
Committee Spotlight - Awards Committee
January 7, 2021
The ILA Awards Committee is a group of volunteers committed to celebrating and increasing awareness of the excellent work, outstanding achievements, and all-around awesomeness of Illinois’s library professionals.  The committee’s mai…

More news »

Committee Charge

Administers the awards and recognition program of the association annually; publicizes the awards to attract qualified nominees; selects association-wide award winners.

Committee Composition

Composed of up to twelve members, serving three-year, staggered terms, including a chair and a vice-chair. The vice-chair will serve as chair in the year following service as vice-chair.

All persons commenting or voting in the ILA awards process will recuse themselves from participating in the process of any award for which they have been nominated or the process of any award for which they have a conflict of interest.

Awards, Nomination Submissions, and Procedures

Committee Reports

  1. Alissa T. Henkel Alissa T. Henkel, Chair Head of Programs, Resources and Services at Decatur Public Library

    Chair Term ends 06/30/2024
    Member Term ends 06/30/2025

  2. Sara Angel Sara Angel, Member Adult Services Librarian at Westmont Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2025

  3. Alexandra Annen Alexandra Annen, Member Homer Township Public Library District

    Member Term ends 06/30/2025

  4. Cindy S Boehlke Cindy S Boehlke, Member Director at Prairie Skies Public Library District

    Member Term ends 06/30/2026

  5. Amy E. Franco Amy E. Franco, Member Executive Director at Hillside Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  6. Becky Fyolek Becky Fyolek, Member Executive Director at Crystal Lake Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  7. Kelly McCully Kelly McCully, Member Director at Bourbonnais Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2025

  8. Maggie Thomann Maggie Thomann, Member Glen Ellyn Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2025

  9. Pamela J. Thomas Pamela J. Thomas, Member Bibliographic Grant Manager at Cataloging Maintenance Center

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  10. Suzanne Wulf Suzanne Wulf, Member Deputy Director at Oak Park Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2026

  11. Gwendolyn Harrison Gwendolyn Harrison, Board liaison Lincoln Library

    Board liaison Term ends 06/30/2026

  12. Tamara Jenkins Tamara Jenkins, Staff liaison Illinois Library Association

    Staff liaison Term ends 06/30/2025

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »