Intellectual Freedom Committee


Chicagoans of the Year for Books: Librarians and library workers of Illinois fight for dignity during a year of challenges
December 21, 2022
Article in Chicago Tribune "Chicagoans of the Year for Books: Librarians and library workers of Illinois fight for dignity during a year of challenges" When Julie Milavec thinks back on the past 12 months, her sigh gets long and heavy, almo…
Intellectual Freedom Challenges to Library-Initiated Programs: Some Recent Examples from Illinois Libraries
September 1, 2022
Article published by ILA Intellectual Freedom Committee in the September 2022, Volume XL, Issue 3 of the ILA Reporter (Download PDF) Written by Jeremy Andrykowski, Oak Park Public Library and Matt Matkowski, Palos Heights Public Library The Amer…
Deborah Caldwell-Stone, Director of the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom, Named Recipient of the 2021 Intellectual Freedom Award
July 1, 2021
The 2021 Illinois Library Association Intellectual Freedom Award is awarded to Deborah Caldwell-Stone, director of the American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom and the Executive Director of the Freedom to Read Foundation. …

More news »


  1. May 10 2023

    Intellectual Freedom Committee Meeting

    Wednesday, May 10, 2023 2:00pm–3:00pm


More events »

Report Challenges to Library Materials

Since 1990, the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom has maintained a database on challenged materials. You can report challenges to materials in your library's collection by following the link below. 

Report a Challenge


IFC Resource Guide

Intellectual freedom issues are on the rise at libraries nationwide. This sheet, prepared by the ILA Intellectual Freedom Committee for the 2022 Annual Conference, contains resources you can use to help prepare for and respond to incidents. Download the IFC Resource Guide.


Other Resources

Committee Charge

Works to resist all attempts to censor library materials or to restrict public access to information. Keeps abreast of statewide and national issues and challenges. Gathers and disseminates information to the membership. Serves as a clearinghouse and source of information for libraries seeking assistance. Promotes intellectual freedom by actively contacting library and school officials where materials or procedures have been challenged, offering the assistance of the ILA membership. Raises awareness and provides continuing education activities. Selects the Intellectual Freedom Award winner. Provides leadership and assistance in access and privacy for electronic information.

The Intellectual Freedom Committee chair(s) serve(s) ex officio on ILA's Public Policy Committee.

Committee Composition

Composed of up to ten members,  serving three-year, staggered terms.

Committee Reports

  1. Matthew Matkowski Matthew Matkowski, Co-chair Head of Public Services at Palos Heights Public Library

    Co-chair Term ends 06/30/2023
    Member Term ends 06/30/2023

  2. Jeremy Andrykowski Jeremy Andrykowski, Member Director of Operations at Oak Park Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2023

  3. Kathy L Dejnowski Kathy L Dejnowski, Member Thornton Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  4. Stephanie Favela Stephanie Favela, Member Adult Services Lead at O'Fallon Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  5. Elizabeth Lynch Elizabeth Lynch, Member Head of Teen Services at Addison Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  6. Betsy Mahoney Betsy Mahoney, Member Branch Manager at Six Mile Regional Library District

    Member Term ends 06/30/2023

  7. Catherine Purcell Catherine Purcell, Member Library Associate at Champaign Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2023

  8. Sarah Rice Sarah Rice, Member Research and Knowledge Services Manager at Forefront

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  9. Heidi Smith Heidi Smith, Member Executive Director at Highland Park Public Library

    Member Term ends 06/30/2024

  10. Cassandra Thompson Cassandra Thompson, Member SHARE Director at Illinois Heartland Library System - Edwardsville

    Member Term ends 06/30/2023

  11. Michelle Oh Michelle Oh, Board liaison Education Librarian at Oakton College

    Board liaison Term ends 06/30/2023

  12. Kristin Pekoll Kristin Pekoll, Staff liaison Conference and Continuing Education Manager at Illinois Library Association

    Staff liaison Term ends 06/30/2025

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »