Directors University

Directors University

June 3–7, 2019

Springfield, Illinois

Submit Your Application

The third annual Directors University will be held June 3-7, 2019, at the Illinois State Library in Springfield, Illinois. Lodging will be at the State House Inn, 101 E. Adams Street. This week-long University is intended for first-time directors and directors new to Illinois from public libraries of all shapes and sizes. 

The five-day series of workshops will train public library directors for their new executive roles. The University will also provide opportunities for networking and team building through lectures and small, informal discussions. Participants are required to attend all workshops. Topics for the week include library & employment law, policies, budgeting, board-director relations, leadership, and Illinois State Library and system competencies. 

The registration fee for the week is $150; participants will be responsible for their own travel expenses. Materials, lodging, and meals will be covered by the registration fee and support from the Illinois State Library using funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services, under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).

Approximately fifty participants will be selected to attend, with the intent of maintaining both geographic distribution and variation in size and structure. Preference will be given to new directors who have not previously attended Directors University or SPLMI. Applicants must have been named the permanent director of the library by May 1. 

Applications will be accepted until March 22. Attendees will be notified of their selection by mid-April. 

Programming starts at 1:00 p.m., Monday, June 3, and ends at 12:00 p.m., Friday, June 7. The weekly schedule of speakers and events will be available by early May.

Contact RAILS, IHLS, and Directors University Co-chairs with questions.


Joe Filapek, Director of Consulting and

Continuing Education

Phone: 630-734-5132



Anna Yackle, Membership Coordinator

Phone: 618-656-3216 x618



Directors University Co-chair:

Amanda McKay, Effingham Public Library 

Phone: 217-342.-464 x400

Directors University Co-chair:

Jim Deiters, Oak Lawn Public Library

Phone: 708-422-4990 x300


iREAD Summer Reading Programs

The 2019 iREAD theme, It's Showtime At Your Library Themed graphics and much more is here!

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »