Crosman Memorial Award for New Library Workers

Presented by the ILA Awards Committee and Dominican University SOIS in memory of Alex Crosman, director of the Peoria Public Library until his death in 1986. Crosman was instrumental in forming the Junior Members Round Table in Illinois.

We are no longer accepting nominations for this award.

Not sure how to get started with your nomination?

Click here to download award nomination guidelines and requirements.

Review the Criteria and Eligibility below. 


This award recognizes the achievements of the library workers who are new or relatively new to the field and encourages continued involvement in the profession. Other awards honor those who have accomplished a great deal over a long period of time; this award is to honor people who have accomplished a great deal in a short time.


  • Open to those who have been in the library field or profession for ten years or less (MLS not required).
  • Open to individuals working in all types of libraries.
  • Individuals may nominate themselves or be nominated by others.
  • ILA Awards Committee members are not eligible for the award.
  • Nominee must be a personal member of ILA or be employed at an institution that is an ILA member.


The nominee's contribution(s) to Illinois libraries as a new library worker may take the form of: 

  • why the nominee deserves the award (in 200 words or less)
  • involvement and contributions to the library field
  • involvement in the community or institution served by the nominee's library
  • memberships and offices in professional or related organizations;
  • honors or recognition received;
  • two professional references including names, addresses, and phone numbers

The written nomination statement should support one or more of the applicable criteria. Attach any supporting documentation. 

Award Winners

The recipient will be presented with a certificate and a $200 financial award.

Please note that monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon sponsor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.

Nomination Deadline

May 15

Nomination Submissions

The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined. Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. 

If a group, department, or organization is chosen as the award winner, the individual members of the group will be collectively recognized. If more than one individual nominates the same person, only one nominator will be invited to attend the Award Ceremony. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

Previous Crosman Memorial Award Winners

1987    Rachel Miller
1988    Tom Dorst
1989    W. Randall Wilson
1990    Roberta Koscielski
1991    Denise Anton Wright
1992    Ruth Shasteen
1993    Lisa Powell Williams
1994    Mari McKeeth
1995    Teri Wiley
1996    Betsy O'Connell
1997    Elisabeth Butler Burns
1998    Karen Siwak
1999    Michelle L. Budt
2000    no award
2001    Sheri D. Starr
2002    Rose M. Taylor
2003    no award
2004    Diana Brawley Sussman
2005    no award
2006    Kelly Laszczak
2007    Leighton Shell
2008    Skye Lavin
2009    Angie Green
2010    Lauren Jensen
2011    Michele Paladines
2012    Megan Buttera
2013    Kate La Mantia
2014    Maria Ford
2015    Anne Slaughter
2016    Patricia (Trixie) Dantis
2017    Jennifer Hovanec
2018    Emily Johnson
2019    JJ Pionke
2020    Sara Benson 

2021    Victoria Blackmer 
2022    Jocelyn Armstrong
2023    Lizzi Ogle 

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »