TBS, Inc. Technical Services Award

Presented by the Resources and Technical Services Forum and Today’s Business Solutions, Inc.

We are no longer accepting nominations for this award.

Not sure how to get started with your nomination?

Click here to download award nomination guidelines and requirements.

Review the Criteria and Eligibility below. 


This annual citation is awarded to an individual who has made a substantial contribution in the area of library technical services.


The nominee should be a personal ILA member or be employed by an institution that is an ILA member. The nominee does not have to be a member of Resources and Technical Services Forum.

The forum manager and manager-elect shall appoint an awards subcommittee of three members. The subcommittee shall solicit, receive and evaluate all nominations. Those recommending nominees for this award should submit a letter of nomination addressing how the nominee meets the criteria, and, if possible, obtain and submit a vita or resume from the nominee.


Individuals nominated should have demonstrated achievements in such areas as:

  • Planning and implementing a technical services program of noteworthy quality;
  • Leadership abilities within the area of technical services; and
  • Service to the profession through regional, state, and national organizations.

Nominees need not meet all of the above criteria.

Award Winners

The recipient will receive a certificate and a $500 financial award.

Please note that monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon sponsor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.

Nomination Deadline

May 15

Nomination Submissions

The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined. Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria.

If a group, department, or organization is chosen as the award winner, the individual members of the group will be collectively recognized. If more than one individual nominates the same person, only one nominator will be invited to attend the Award Ceremony. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

Previous TBS, Inc. Technical Services Award Winners

2000    May Anstee
2001    no award
2002    John A. Whisler
2003    Lori Bell
2004    Jenny Levine
2005    no award
2006    Teresa Embrey
2007    no award
2008    Joy Anhalt
2009    Richard A. Stewart
2010    Tony Siciliano
2011    Theodore Schwitzner
2012    Myung Gi Sung
2013    Lynette Fields
2014    Rosemary Groenwald
2015    Brooke Sievers
2016    Matt Teske
2017    Jennifer Fredericks
2018    Lucas McKeever
2019    Kristine Hammerstrand
2020    Natalie Hall 

2021    Rudolph Host III 

2022    Lisa Bobis
2023    Karen Toonen

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »