Deborah Dowley Preiser Marketing Award

Presented by the Illinois Library Association and the Oak Park Public Library.

We are no longer accepting nominations for this award.

Not sure how to get started with your nomination?

Click here to download award nomination guidelines and requirements.

Review the Criteria and Eligibility below. 


This award recognizes a library employee or group whose excellent work in marketing over a period of several years, reflecting the importance of publicity for adult programming, given that library programming is central to the role of the library as a community center and to the library as place.


The award recipient shall demonstrate most or all of the following:

  • Membership in ILA or employment at an ILA institutional member.
  • Employment in an Illinois library.


The nominee's contribution(s) to library marketing or public relations may take the form of:

  • Involvement in library public relations and adult programming at the ILA and in other local/regional/national forums.
  • Continuing production of exciting and innovative public relation activities for adult programming.
  • Demonstrated success at level that is recognized as exemplary over a period of years in library marketing or public relations.
  • Nominee is considered a role model by virtue of deeds, actions, ideas, and examples.

The written nomination statement should support one or more of the applicable criteria. Attach any supporting documentation. 

Award Winners

Recipient will receive a certificate and a $250 financial award.

Please note that monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon sponsor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.

Nomination Deadline

May 15

Nomination Submissions

The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined. Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria.

If a group, department, or organization is chosen as the award winner, the individual members of the group will be collectively recognized. If more than one individual nominates the same person, only one nominator will be invited to attend the Award Ceremony. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

Previous Deborah Dowley Preiser Marketing Award Winners

2007      no award
2008      Allison Beasley
2009      Miriam Lytle
2010      Alissa Williams
2011      Nicolette M. Seidl
2012      Tina Viglucci
2013      Trisha Noack
2014      Sue Wilsey
2015     Jan Oblinger
2016     Catherine Bailey
2017     Christina Janiczek
2018     Sasha Vasilic
2019     Chris Renkosiak
2020     Pamela Salomone 

2021     Linda Vering 

2022     Karina Guico
2023     Evelyn Shapiro and Gloria Roubal, Champaign Public Library Promotions Team

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »