Readers' Advisory Service Award

Presented by ILA Awards Committee and the Adult Reading Round Table (ARRT).

We are no longer accepting nominations for this award.

Not sure how to get started with your nomination?

Click here to download award nomination guidelines and requirements.

Review the Criteria and Eligibility below. 


This award recognizes excellence in the planning, development, and delivery of readers’ advisory service to adults and teens and has been created in accordance with the mission statement of the Adult Reading Round Table: “to promote readers’ advisory skills and reading for pleasure through libraries.” Readers’ advisory is the ability to connect readers with materials that will satisfy their desire for something to read for pleasure.


The award is offered annually to individual ILA members, ILA member libraries, including individual staff members of member libraries, and departments, or groups within ILA member institutions. Applications should be submitted to the ILA awards committee. The recipient will be selected by a subcommittee of the ARRT Steering Committee and the ILA Awards Committee. The Adult Reading Round Table is committed to promoting the award and soliciting nominations.


  • Nominees must demonstrate one or more of the following:
  • Development of specialized or innovative programs or services;
  • Active participation in professional organizations (at the local, state, or national level), including the planning and presentation of programs and/or workshops designed to enhance the quality of readers’ advisory service;
  • Influence and/or cooperation with persons and organizations within the local community to encourage reading and discussion;
  • Publication of books and/or articles that promote high quality readers’ advisory service and offer methods for strengthening readers’ advisory skills;
  • Participation in research projects that contribute to the knowledge and expertise of readers’ advisory practitioners.


Recipient will receive a certificate and a $200 financial award.

Please note that monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon sponsor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.

Nomination Deadline

May 15

Nomination Submissions

The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined. Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. 

If a group, department, or organization is chosen as the award winner, the individual members of the group will be collectively recognized. If more than one individual nominates the same person, only one nominator will be invited to attend the Award Ceremony. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

Previous Readers' Advisory Winners

2015    Downers Grove Public Library
2016    Mike Hominick and Tracy Gossage
2017    Debbie Hoffman
2018    Adult Services Department, Deerfield Public Library
2019    Popular Materials Department, Ela Area Public Library
2020    Cook Memorial Public Library District 
2021    Dylan Zavagno 

2022    Public Services Departments of Shorewood-Troy Library
2023    no award

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »