Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award

Presented by the ILA Public Policy Committee.

We are no longer accepting nominations for this award.

Not sure how to get started with your nomination?

Click here to download award nomination guidelines and requirements.

Review the Criteria and Eligibility below. 

This award was established in 1989 to recognize Robert R. McClarren for:

  • inspiring and guiding the development of a comprehensive legislative program on behalf of Illinois libraries and the Illinois Library Association;
  • serving with singular distinction on the ILA Library Legislative Development Committee;
  • being instrumental in establishing a grassroots program of legislator education and awareness;
  • drafting language for library legislation, which benefits Illinois libraries;
  • being an articulate spokesperson on behalf of Illinois libraries with the secretary of state, the General Assembly members, and Congressional delegation members;
  • being instrumental in drawing statewide support for library legislative initiatives from a broad base of constituencies; and
  • embodying by example the highest standard for citizen initiative in the shaping of the laws governing Illinois library development.


The award is given to a worthy recipient from the Illinois library community—librarian, trustee, legislator, or library—who has contributed significantly to legislative development in the state of Illinois.


An individual, group, or institution may be nominated. 


The award recipient shall demonstrate outstanding accomplishment in at least one of the pioneering and exemplary achievements (cited above) of Robert R. McClarren’s distinguished career.

Award Winners

The recipient will receive a certificate. The recipient's name will be added to the permanent plaque on display at the Illinois State Library building.

Nomination Deadline

May 15

Nomination Submissions

The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined. Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria.

If a group, department, or organization is chosen as the award winner, the individual members of the group will be collectively recognized. If more than one individual nominates the same person, only one nominator will be invited to attend the Award Ceremony. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

Previous Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award Winners

1989    Robert R. McClarren
1990    Sherwood Kirk
1991    Eva R. Brown
1992    no award
1993    Illinois State Senator Philip Rock
1994    no award
1995    Illinois Secretary of State George Ryan
1996    no award
1997    Deborah Miller
1998    Pamela P. Feather
1999    no award
2000    G. Victor Johnson
2001    Speaker of the Illinois House of Representatives  Michael J. Madigan
2002    Sharon Hogan
2003    Chadwick T. Raymond
2004    Lee A. Logan
2005    no award
2006    U.S. Representative Donald A. Manzullo
2007    Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White
2008    Lou Ann Jacobs
2009    Tamiye Meehan
2010    Kathleen McSwain
2011    Donna Dziedzic
2012    Illinois State Senator Edward Maloney 
2013    Denise Zielinski
2014    Illinois House of Representative Kelly Burke
2015    Illinois State Senator William Haine
2016    Kip Kolkmeier
2017    Illinois State Representative Michael J. Zalewski
2018    Illinois State Senator Scott Bennett
2019    Illinois State Representative La Shawn Ford
2020    no award
2021    Illinois State Senator Patrick McGuire 

2022    Reaching Across Illinois Library System (RAILS) 
2023    Illinois State Senator Laura Murphy

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »