Reference Services Award

Presented by the ILA Awards Committee and Ancel, Glink

We are no longer accepting nominations for this award.

Not sure how to get started with your nomination?

Click here to download award nomination guidelines and requirements.

Review the Criteria and Eligibility below. 


This award recognizes excellence in providing assistance to library users as they seek and use information. 


Nominees can be an individual, group, department, or library. The nominee should be a personal ILA member or be employed by an institution that is an ILA member. The ILA Awards Committee selects the recipient. 


Nominees must demonstrate one or more of the following:

  • Specialized or innovative programs or services;
  • Service to the library profession through active participation in professional organizations (at the local, state, or national level);
  • The nominee has influenced and/or cooperated with persons or organizations within his/her community in the planning or presenting of programs or services for; and
  • The nominee has reached and affected persons outside his/her own community by deed, idea, and/or example.

A written statement of no more than 200 words should be submitted. Letters of support and examples of quality work or innovative programs that reflect the intent of the forum’s award criteria, up to ten in number, should be included.

Award Winners

The recipient will receive a certificate and a $250 check.

Please note that monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon sponsor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.

Nomination Deadline

May 15

Nomination Submissions

The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined. Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

Previous Reference Services Award winners

1993    Mary Goulding
1994    Felicia Sworsky
1995    Marian Milling
1996    Betty Roberson
1997    Jay Larson
1998    Kathryn M. Harris and the African American History Committee, Illinois State Historical Library
1999    Laura Haule
2000    Suburban Library System Service Research Librarians: Jolene Carlson, Laura Johnson, Glenn Kersten, Nell Ingalls, and Cris Sakalas
2001    William Goodfellow
2002    Christine Stupegia, Linda Mathias, and Kendi Kelley
2003    Adult Reading Round Table
2004    Lala Rodgers
2005    Oak Park Public Library and Illinois Clicks!
2006    no award
2007    no award
2008    Carolyn Mulac
2009    RASSL, Reference Association of South Suburban Libraries
2010    My Info Quest
2011    William J. Pardue
2012    Batavia Public Library District
2013    Kara Kohn
2014    Patrick Coffey
2015    Lindsay Holbrook
2016    Pembroke Public Library
2017    Alexander Annen
2018    Anthony "Tony" Kierna
2019    Stacey Knight-Davis
2020    Johnna Schultz 

2021    Steven Giese 

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »