Oberman and Rich Reaching Forward Conference Grant

Presented by Reaching Forward, a professional development conference for Library Support Staff in honor of Tobi Oberman and Tom Rich, who were instrumental in developing the Reaching Forward Conference for library support staff.

Submit nomination.

The award recognizes the contributions of a support staff member to the library community and the role of support staff in libraries.


Open to support staff working in all types of libraries. Persons may nominate themselves or others.


A one page or less letter completing the statement, “Why I would like to attend Reaching Forward” or “Why I think [name of nominee] deserves to attend Reaching Forward” should be submitted to the selection committee.


Recipient(s) will receive free registration to the current year Reaching Forward Conference, an overnight stay at the Reaching Forward conference hotel, $50 for expenses, and a framed certificate.

Nomination Deadline

March 31

Sponsor Contact

Illinois Library Association
Reaching Forward: Forum for Library Support Staff
33. W. Grand Ave., Ste. 401
Chicago, IL 60654-6799
phone: (312) 644-1896
fax: (312) 644-1899

Previous Oberman and Rich Reaching Forward Conference Grant for Support Staff Award

1995    Claudia Race and Rosemary Boenig
1996    Nancy L. Sergel and Darlene G. Ward
1997-98 Rosa Palomino and Debbie Rosen
1999    Lawrence Szymanski, Pamela H. Carlson, Mary Jayne Nash, Nadine Horn
2000    Charles Hoover and Sheryl M. Czulno
2001    Jorge Arroyo and Shirley Novotny
2002    Patricia Lewis and Delores Johnson
2003    Sharon Gums and Ruth Hart
2004    Vida Baleckaitis and Mickie Beckman
2005    Tamela James, Sue Altmann, Jan Colwell, and Jose Negrete
2006    Felicia Crumpton, Jennifer Heyden, and Jessica Bertola
2007    Fay Hutchings and Danny Van Dusen
2008    Lori J. Wilcox and Robert Wise
2009    Heidi Knuth and Patrick Rossi, Sr.
2010    Ann Kleinschmidt, Lawrence Bullman, and Char Vice
2011    Rhonda Szewczyk
2012    Claire Osada
2013    Cynthia Rauscher
2014    Zachariah Terrill
2015    Brian Valesh
2016    Georgia Pichinos-Anderson
2017    Noelle McDonough
2018    Carla Lasky
2019    Jessi Baker
2020    William Pleas

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »

Latest Library JobLine Listings

Browse all JobLine listings »