Award Nominations Due May 15

March 26, 2015

Spotlighting Three More Awards

Crosman Memorial Award

This award recognizes the achievements of the library workers who are new or relatively new to the field and encourages continued involvement in the profession.  Other awards honor those who have accomplished a great deal over a long period of time; this award is to honor people who have accomplished a great deal in a short time.


Librarian of the Year Award 

This award recognizes a librarian's distinguished service and leadership in Illinois libraries.  Generally, the librarian so honored will have made an impact locally, statewide, and nationally.  However, if an individual's service is unusually outstanding on one level, then the nomination can rest on that area alone.  Librarians so honored will have demonstrated a commitment to libraries, and especially Illinois libraries, which can serve as a model for others in the profession. 


Alexander J. Skrzypek Award 

The award is given to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library services for the blind or physically disabled in Illinois.


Nominations for all ILA Awards are due May 15, 2015.  Nominating someone for an ILA Award has never been easier!


Submit your nomination form and all supporting documentation via the ILA Web site.  No service should go unrecognized, so toot your own horn or tell us who you think is the best!


If you have any questions about the ILA Awards, please contact the ILA office at 312-644-1896, or

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »