Crosman Memorial Award
Presented by the ILA Awards Committee and Mortenson Construction in memory of Alex Crosman, director of the Peoria Public Library until his death in 1986. Crosman was instrumental in forming the Junior Members Round Table in Illinois. 

This award recognizes the achievements of the library workers who are new or relatively new to the field and encourages continued involvement in the profession.  Other awards honor those who have accomplished a great deal over a long period of time; this award is to honor people who have accomplished a great deal in a short time.


  • Open to those who have been in the library field or profession for ten years or less.
  • Open to individuals working in all types of libraries.
  • Individuals may nominate themselves or be nominated by others.
  • ILA Awards Committee members are not eligible for the award.
  • Nominee must be a personal member of ILA.

Emphasis will be placed upon involvement and contributions to the library field and involvement in the community or institution served by the nominee's library.

The written statement of support should include:

  • previous positions and dates;
  • memberships and offices in professional or related organizations;
  • publications;
  • honors received;
  • two professionals including names, addresses, and phone numbers; and
  • why the nominee deserves the award (in 200 words or less).

ILA Awards Committee members may solicit and nominate candidates for the award. The ILA Awards Committee is responsible for determining whether or not the nominee meets the criteria of the award. Award Committee members must work with the nominations received in accordance with the established timetable; in the event that no deserving nominations are received, the Awards Committee members may not nominate a recipient.

Award Winners
The recipient will be presented with a certificate and a $200 financial award.

Nomination Deadline
May 15


Nomination Submissions
The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined.  Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

See previous Crosman Memorial Award winners