Alexander J. Skrzypek Award
Presented by the ILA and the Illinois State Library in honor of Alexander J. Skrzypek (1905-1976), the first librarian for the blind at the Chicago Public Library.  Skrzypek’s career in libraries began in 1919 as a part-time page and he was named head librarian for the blind in 1952.  

The award is given to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library services for the blind or physically disabled in Illinois.

The nominee’s contribution(s) to advancing library services for the blind and physically disabled may take the form of:

  • an imaginative innovation in local or statewide services; 
  • a recognized contribution to the Illinois program of service for the disabled; 
  • an innovative public awareness campaign, which stimulated growth in local or statewide library services; 
  • a significant publication or writing in the field; 
  • the efforts of boards and libraries to follow/comply with the American with Disabilities Act (ADA); or 
  • any activity of recognized importance in the field.
In the event that no deserving nominations are received, the ILA Awards Committee may not then nominate a recipient.The written nomination statement should support the criteria. Attach any supporting documentation. 

Award Winners
The recipient will receive a certificate and have their name added to the plaque at the Illinois State Library.

Nomination Deadline
May 15


Nomination Submissions
The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined.  Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

See previous Alexander J. Skrzypek Award winners