ACRL Seeks Nominations for 2017 Awards

Illinois Association of College & Research Libraries Forum (IACRL)

September 11, 2016

(via Gwen Gregory, IACRL President)

ACRL celebrates the opportunity to honor the outstanding achievements of academic and research librarians across North America. Made possible by generous corporate support, the annual presentation of ACRL’s awards, grants, and fellowships enables ACRL to honor the very best in academic librarianship. This year, ACRL once again seeks to celebrate and recognize the accomplishments of its peers.

Members are an integral part of ACRL’s successful awards program. ACRL urges members to nominate colleagues whose work has influenced their thinking and growth as an academic librarian, and whose contributions merit recognition by the profession. Member nominations will ensure that the pool of candidates for each award remains both competitive and distinguished. Nominations and supporting materials for most awards must be submitted by Friday, December 2.

Awards in each category are listed below.

Outstanding Achievement and Distinguished Service Awards (The full list of awards in this category is available on the ACRL website.)

The Excellence in Academic Libraries Award (sponsored by YBP Library Services) recognizes academic libraries that are outstanding in furthering the educational missions of their institutions. A $3,000 award is given for each type of library (e.g. college, community college, and university).

The Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award (sponsored by YBP Library Services) awards $5,000 and recognizes an outstanding member of the academic or research library profession.

The Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (sponsored by ACRL, ALCTS, LLAMA and LITA) provides a cash award and recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) in the areas of library automation, management, development and research.

The Politics, Policy, and International Relations Section Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award (sponsored by SAGE-CQ Press) provides a $1,000 award and recognizes a librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.

Publication Awards

The Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (sponsored by Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab, American Book Prices Current) recognize outstanding catalogues published by American or Canadian institutions in conjunction with library exhibitions. Deadline: October 15, 2016.

The Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award (sponsored by Emerald Group Publishing) provides $3,000 to recognize an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment that was published in the last two years.

The Science and Technology Section Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences is a biennial award given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.

Research Award

The WESS-SEES De Gruyter European Librarianship Study Grant (sponsored by the Walter de Gruyter Foundation for Scholarship and Research) provides a €2,500 grant to support research in European studies with an emphasis on librarianship, the book trade, resource documentation and similar information-science related topics.

More information about the awards–including submission procedures, past winners, criteria, and contact information–is available in the awards section of the ACRL website or by contacting ACRL Program Coordinator Chase Ollis at

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »