Nominations Sought for 2017 ALCTS Preservation Awards

Illinois Association of College & Research Libraries Forum (IACRL)

September 18, 2016

(via the American Library Association)

Nominations are being accepted for the 2017 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) preservation awards. ALCTS presents three Preservation Awards, through its Preservation and Reformatting Section, to honor individuals whose work represents the finest achievements in research, collaboration, creative work, leadership and service in preservation or to support a new preservation staff member’s participation in preservation activities at the ALA Annual Conference.

If you are interested in nominating a candidate for the awards, contact the chair of that award jury. The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Thursday, December 1.

Banks/Harris Preservation Award

The Award, which consists of $1,500 and a citation is given to a professional preservation specialist who has been active in the field of preservation or conservation for library or archival materials. Winners will be chosen based on leadership in professional associations, contributions to the development and utilization of new or improved preservation methods, and significant contribution to professional literature and preservation training. Send a formal statement of nomination providing a strong rationale for why the person merits the award, along with supporting materials, to Stephanie Lamson, Chair, Banks/Harris Jury. Visit the Banks Harris page for more information.

George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award

The George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. Recipients of the Award demonstrate vision, endorse cooperation and advocate for the preservation of published and primary source resources that capture the richness of our cultural patrimony. The Cunha/Swartzburg Award is sponsored by Hollinger Metal Edge and includes a $1,250 grant and citation. Send a formal statement of nomination explaining the reason the nominee merits the award, along supporting materials, to Karen Kiorpes, Chair, Cunha/Swartzburg Jury. Visit the Cunha Swartzburg page for more information.

Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant

The Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant provides the recipient the opportunity to attend the American Library Association Annual Conference, in order to contribute to her or his professional development. The recipient will attend meetings and programs, and the person will be required to submit a short essay on her or his conference experience to the ALCTS News. The grant consists of a $1,250 cash grant, along with a citation to be presented at the ALCTS Awards ceremony. Nominations, including a short essay on the theme “How would receiving the Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant further your professional development goals?,” should be sent to Patricia Smith-Hunt, Chair, Grant Jury. Visit the Jan Merrill-Oldham Grant page for more information.

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »