Legislative Update -- November 10, 2022

November 10, 2022

Tuesday’s General Election has resulted in Illinois Democrats sweeping the state’s constitutional offices and the party is expected to win 14 of the state’s 17 congressional seats. The Democratic party will expand its majority in the Illinois House of Representatives, maintain its Illinois Senate supermajority status, and enlarge its Supreme Court majority. Below is an Illinois General Election update that is current as of Thursday, November 10, 2022.

It remains unknown whether the proposed Illinois Constitutional “Workers’ Rights Amendment” will be adopted by voters. Ballots cast before Election Day will ultimately decide whether various employee protections will be guaranteed within the state constitution.  

Governor JB Pritzker and United States Senator Tammy Duckworth declared victory on Tuesday evening over Illinois State Senator Darren Bailey and Kathy Salvi. Both won with double-digit percentage margins over their opponents. Alexi Giannoulias has been elected Secretary of State, replacing Jesse White after 24 years as Secretary of State and State Librarian.

In other major contested ballot races:

U.S. House

  • Jonathan Jackson has been elected United States Congressperson from the 1st District following incumbent Congressperson Bobby Rush’s retirement;
  • In the 3rd Congressional District, Democrat State Representative Delia Ramirez has defeated her Republican opponent, Justin Burau;
  • Sixth District Congressperson Sean Casten has defeated GOP Orland Park Mayor Keith Pekau;
  • Raja Krishnamoorthi will return to Congress representing Illinois’ 8th District with a victory over Chris Dargis;
  • Brad Schneider has defeated Joseph Serervino in the 10th Congressional District;
  • Bill Foster has defeated Catalina Lauf in the 11th Congressional District;
  • Republican Congressperson Mike Bost has defeated Homer Markel in the 12th Congressional District;
  • The 13th Congressional District in central Illinois will be represented by Democrat Nikki Budzinski who beat her opponent, Regan Deering;
  • Congresswoman Lauren Underwood has defeated Scott Gryder in the 14th Congressional District; and
  • Democrat Eric Sorensen has declared victory over Ester Joy King to represent the 17th Congressional District.

Illinois Senate and House

  • Democrat Nabeela Syed has defeated incumbent Chris Bos in the 51st House District;
  • Mary Beth Canty has defeated Republican Michele Homer in the 54th House District;
  • In the 83rd House District, Assistant Republican Leader Keith Wheeler was defeated by Matt Hanson;
  • Democrat Sharon Chung was elected over Republican opponent Scott Preston in the 91st House District;
  • Democrat Harry Benton continues to lead his GOP opponent, Michelle Smith, in the 97th House District;
  • Democratic Majority Conference Chairperson LaToya Greenwood was defeated by Republican Kevin Schmidt in the 114th House District;
  • Recently appointed State Senator Kris Tharp lost his attempt to be elected to the 56th Senate District. Republican Erica Harris will be sworn into office in mid-January;
  • Appointed State Senator Doris Turner has defeated GOP State Representative Sandy Hamilton in her attempt to represent the 48th Senate District; and
  • Numerous state races have enough outstanding ballots to determine election outcomes. 
iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »