Best Practices Committee

Promotes excellence in Illinois libraries by identifying and making known innovative services, community outreach initiatives, and management procedures. Selects an annual award winner and finds methods for encouraging communication among libraries about their best practices, and, using the ILA Web site, features the best of what our libraries are doing.

Committee Composition

The committee will be composed of nine members serving two-year terms. The ILA vice president/president-elect appoints at least three new committee members each year.

  1. Anthony V. Lucarelli Anthony V. Lucarelli, Chair Indian Prairie Public Library District
  2. Victoria Akinde Victoria Akinde, Member Schaumburg Township District Library
  3. Meredith Anderson Meredith Anderson, Member Geneva Public Library District
  4. Shannon Distel Shannon Distel, Member Grants & Development Administrator at Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  5. Victoria Hart Victoria Hart, Member Executive Director at Mississippi Valley Library District
  6. Laura McGrath Laura McGrath, Member Access Services Manager at Skokie Public Library
  7. Joelen Pastva Joelen Pastva, Member Metadata Librarian at Northwestern University Libraries
  8. Deidre Winterhalter Deidre Winterhalter, Member Digital Learning Coordinator at Oak Park Public Library
  9. Brian Shepard Brian Shepard, Board liaison Indian Trails Public Library District

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

The 2018 iREAD theme, Reading Takes You Everywhere! Themed graphics and much more is here!

Visit the iREAD website »