ILA Executive Board Candidate Slate for 2024 Election

January 24, 2024
The ILA Nominating Committee has announced the 2024 candidates for election in the spring of 2024.

(three-year term beginning July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2027)

Carolyn Ciesla, Elmhurst University
Lora Del Rio, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville 

(three-year term beginning July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2027)
A candidate from each pairing will be elected in accordance with the ILA bylaws as amended at the 1998 ILA Annual Conference; a total of four directors will be elected to serve three-year terms on the ILA Executive Board.

Rachel Fuller, The Urbana Free Library
Aimee Villet, Glen Carbon Centennial Library

Jennie Mills, Shorewood-Troy Public Library District 
Monica Dombrowski, Winnetka-Northfield Public Library District

Erin Steinsultz, Crab Orchard Public Library District
Chris Houchens, Charleston Carnegie Public Library


Michelle Glatt, Chiddix Junior High School
Gail Meyer, TF South High School

ALA Councilor
Patricia Chavez, Rush University Medical Center
Daniel Matthews, Moraine Valley Community College Library

Any ILA member wishing to be added to the ballot by petition shall be added to the slate and placed in the paired candidate group that most clearly matches the affiliations of the petitioner as determined by the Nominating Committee. Petition candidates for vice president/president-elect will be added to the presidential slate as requested.

Nominations by petition for an elective office shall be proposed in writing by at least one hundred (100) personal members of the association and delivered to the Executive Office by March 1. Candidates nominated by petition shall be added to the slate and placed in the candidate group that most clearly matches the affiliation of the petitioner. The determination of placement on the slate is the responsibility of the Nominating Committee.

The polls will open electronically on April 1, 2024. The electronic polls will close on April 30, 2024, at midnight. 

Serving on the Nominating Committee are Heather Jagman (chair), Elizabeth Boden, Jennifer Jackson, Kate Kite, Alea Perez, and Geoff Pettys. 

Information on each candidate will be available on the ILA website in March. Please email the ILA office at with any questions.
iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »