ILA Announces Winners of 2019 ILA Awards

July 15, 2019

Chicago, IL —The Illinois Library Association recently announced the recipients of the 2019 ILA Awards. Since its inception, the ILA Awards Program recognizes excellence in librarianship and library service in Illinois. 

This year’s recipients are among the best and brightest within the Illinois library community and set a shining example of librarianship and library service. An awards ceremony honoring the award recipients will be held on October 22, 2019, in conjunction with the 2019 ILA Annual Conference taking place October 22-24, 2019, at the Tinley Park Convention Center. For additional information on the winners, please visit the ILA website.

The 2019 ILA Award recipients are as follows:

  • Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award: Vernon Area Public Library District (Lincolnshire), Indian Trails Public Library District (Wheeling), and Cook Memorial Public Library District (Libertyville)

  • Crosman Memorial Award: JJ Pionke (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) 

  • Davis Cup Award: Heather McCammond-Watts (Glen Ellyn Public Library)

  • Golden Ticket Award: Natalie Williams (Indian Prairie Public Library District, Darien)

  • Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year: Gwen Gregory (University of Illinois at Chicago’s Daley Library)

  • Intellectual Freedom Award: Nicole Cooke, PhD (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

  • Illinois Librarian of the Year: Brian Shepard (Indian Trails Public Library District, Wheeling)

  • Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award: Rep. La Shawn Ford (8th District)

  • Deborah Dowley Preiser Marketing Award: Chris Renkosiak (Lincolnwood Public Library District)

  • Readers’ Advisory Service Award: Popular Materials Department (Ela Area Public Library District, Lake Zurich) 

  • Reference Services Award: Stacey Knight-Davis (Eastern Illinois University’s Booth Library, Charleston)

  •  Alexander J. Skrzypek Award: Amy Sobrino (Effingham Area Alzheimer’s Awareness) 

  • TBS, Inc. Technical Services Award: Kristine Hammerstrand (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois, Champaign)

  • Trustee of the Year Award: Debbie Smart (Arlington Heights Memorial Library)

  • Young Adult Librarian of the Year Award: Heather Colby (Homer Township Public Library District)


About the Illinois Library Association

The Illinois Library Association (ILA) is a not-for-profit educational and professional membership organization that engages in leadership, advocacy, partnership, and learning for the benefit of Illinois libraries. ILA’s membership includes more than 2,500 Illinois public, academic, school, and special libraries as well as librarians, library staff, trustees, students, library vendors and the millions who depend on them. Founded in 1896, it is the third largest state library association and a chapter of the American Library Association.  


iREAD Summer Reading Programs

Since 1981, iREAD provides high quality, low-cost resources and products that enable local library staff to motivate children, young adults, and adults to read.

Visit the iREAD website »