Reaching Forward Forum (RF)

Our mission is to provide professional opportunities for library staff
to grow, learn, and connect with new ideas.

2018 Reaching Forward Annual Conference

The 30th annual Reaching Forward will be held Friday, May 3, 2019, at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, Rosemont, Illinois. 


  1. Sep 21 2018

    Reaching Forward Meeting

    Friday, Sep 21, 2018 10:00am–12:00pm

    Mount Prospect Public Library, 10 S. Emerson St., Mount Prospect, IL 60056

  2. Oct 19 2018

    Reaching Forward Meeting

    Friday, Oct 19, 2018 10:00am–12:00pm

    Mount Prospect Public Library, 10 S. Emerson St., Mount Prospect, IL 60056

  3. Jan 18 2019

    Reaching Forward Meeting

    Friday, Jan 18, 2019 10:00am–12:00pm

    Mount Prospect Public Library, 10 S. Emerson St., Mount Prospect, IL 60056

More events »

Reaching Forward Awards

The 2018 award winners were recognized at this year’s conference. 

Oberman-Rich Award
Carla Lasky
Indian Trails Public Library District

Robert P. Doyle Award

Teresa Schwenneker

River Valley District Library


Submit an Oberman-Rich Award Nomination

Submit a Robert P. Doyle Award Nomination 

Selection Process: Nominations will open in January, 2019, with a deadline of March 31, 2019. You may submit nominations for yourself or for a colleague. A panel of judges from the Reaching Forward Committee will be responsible for choosing the recipients. Supporting reasons for the nomination of a candidate must be provided.

Forum Leadership

  1. Patrice Johnson Patrice Johnson, Co-manager Chicago Public Library
  2. Veronica De Fazio Veronica De Fazio, Co-manager Head of Youth Services at Plainfield Public Library District
  3. Zachariah Terrill Zachariah Terrill, Co-manager McHenry Public Library District
  4. Megan Millen Megan Millen, Board liaison Library Director at Joliet Public Library
  5. Belinda Husak Belinda Husak, Member Algonquin Area Public Library District
  6. Carla J. Nolidis Carla J. Nolidis, Member Naperville Public Library
  7. Diane Gioe Diane Gioe, Member Poplar Creek Public Library District
  8. Georgia Pichinos-Anderson Georgia Pichinos-Anderson, Member Highland Park Public Library
  9. Heidi Knuth Heidi Knuth, Member Youth Services Librarian/Preschool Outreach Coordinator at Bloomingdale Public Library
  10. Jane Jenkins Jane Jenkins, Member Director at Green Hills Public Library District
  11. Janet Wigodner Janet Wigodner, Member Waukegan Public Library
  12. Jennifer Worrell Jennifer Worrell, Member Illinois Institute of Technology
  13. Louise T. Svehla Louise T. Svehla, Member Consulting and Continuing Education Specialist at Reaching Across Illinois Library System
  14. Lynn M. Krambeer Lynn M. Krambeer, Member Library Assistant at Lake Forest Library
  15. Mary Beth Fuller Mary Beth Fuller, Member Bartlett Public Library District
  16. Melinda Provost Melinda Provost, Member Chicago Ridge Public Library
  17. Samantha M Chiappone Samantha M Chiappone, Member Mount Prospect Public Library
  18. Sangeeta Bhargava Sangeeta Bhargava, Member Reference Librarian at Schaumburg Township District Library
  19. Teri Scallon Teri Scallon, Member Arlington Heights Memorial Library
  20. Theresa Therens Theresa Therens, Member Algonquin Area Public Library District

iREAD Summer Reading Programs

The 2018 iREAD theme, Reading Takes You Everywhere! Themed graphics and much more is here!

Visit the iREAD website »