ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

2023-6-5 Agenda Minutes taken by Nikeda Webb

Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89819913172

Oting Members ____ Monica Harris – Rea

Ryan Livergood – Warren-Newport Public Library System (RAILS)

<u>Voting Members</u>	Monica Harris – Reaching Across Illinois Library
Ryan Livergood – Warren-Newport Public Library	System (RAILS)
District (CHAIR)	Anne Craig – Consortium of Academic & Research
Melissa Gardner – Palatine Public Library District	Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
John Kokoris – Gail Borden Public Library District	Jeanne Hamilton – Bloomington Public Library, ILA
Laura Long – East Moline Public Library	Past President
Rebecca Malinowski – Cooperative Computer	Nanette Donohue – Champaign Public Library,
Services	Advocacy Committee
Jamie Paicely – Flossmoor Public Library	Cyndi Robinson – ILA Executive Director
Donna Schaal – Argenta-Oreana Public Library	Heather Jagman – DePaul University, ILA President
District	Ryan Johnson, O'Fallon Public Library, ILA Vice
Kyla Waltermire – Mississippi Valley District Library	President/President-Elect
Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library	Lou Ann Jacobs – Association of Illinois School
Catherine Yanikoski – Engineering Systems, Inc.	Library Educators (AISLE)
	Greg McCormick – Illinois State Library
Ex officio Members	Patrick Molloy – Chicago Public Library
Matthew Matkowski – Palos Heights Public Library,	Ellen Popit – Illinois Heartland Library System (ILHS)
Intellectual Freedom Committee	Gail Graziani – Indian Prairie Public Library,
Derek Blaida – ILA Legislative Consultant	Advocacy Committee
Item & member responsible	<u>Time allotted</u>
Take attendance— Nikeda Webb	2-3 minutes (1:00 p.m.)
Review agenda for changes and additions—ALL	1-2 minutes (1:03 p.m.)
Approve of May 1 minutes—ALL	2-3 minutes (1:05 p.m.)
Advocacy update - Gail or Nanette	5-10 minutes (1:08 p.m.)
Thateact, apacter Can of Hancite	5 10 mmutes (1100 pmm)
ILA Exec Board update – Heather	5 minutes (1:18 p.m.)
Federal update (Cyndi)	5 minutes (1:23 p.m.)
State update (Derek)	15 minutes (1:28 p.m.)
 2023 Spring Session outcomes 	
 Old business 	
 PPC/Legislative Timeline update 	15 minutes (1:43 p.m.)
 <u>Legislative Proposals</u>: July 1 due dat 	
 <u>Example of one-pager</u> in support of 	
 AISLE update (Lou Ann) 	5 minutes (1:58 p.m.)

ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

- New business
 - ◆ Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award 30 minutes (2:03 p.m.)
- Final comments and adjournment

5 minutes (2:33 p.m.)

o Thank you for your hard work, commitment, and dedication this year to the Public Policy Committee. I have greatly enjoyed serving as chair and working with all of you! I know Kyla is going to be an amazing chair and bring great things to the table!

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers

July 19, 1 - 4 PM, Committee Orientation

All meetings are at 1 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another PPC voting member.