Illinois Library Association

Public Policy Committee Meeting minutes

Monday, June 7, 2021

The meeting was called to order by Daniel Matthews at 10:02am

Attendance

Voting Members

Present: Sam Adams-Lanham, Marian Albers, Dennis Danowski, Ryan Livergood, Daniel Matthews (Chair), Rebecca Malinowski, Karolyn Nance, Kathy Parker, Dee Anna Phares, Scott Pointon, Catherine Yanikoski **Absent**: Monica Dombrowski

Ex Officio Members

Present: Molly Beestrum, Derek Blaida, Deirdre Brennan, Elizabeth Clarage (for Anne Craig),
Diana Foote, Veronica De Fazio, Jeanne Hamilton, Lou Ann Jacobs, Greg McCormick, Ellen Popit,
Magan Szwarek, Alex Todd
Absent: Patrick Malloy, Leigh Ann Wilson

Guests Present

Monica Harris, Tina Hubert, Jim Kregor, Cyndi Robinson, Aaron Skog, Tom Stagg, Mary Witt

Approval of Agenda: Motion by Scott Pointon, second by Dee Anna Phares, motion carried.

Approval of Minutes: Motion by Dennis Danowski, second by Kathy Parker, motion carried.

Federal Update

Diane Foote gave a report on the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA). The monies from ARPA will be distributed through many channels but mostly though state agencies. Libraries are eligible for the funding and will need to apply. The monies will be disbursed by 2024 and will need to be expended by 2026. ARPA funding information is on the Illinois Library Association (ILA) website. Illinois Humanities Council is hosting a webinar on the topic.

Springfield Update

Derek Blaida, ILA legislative consultant, stated that despite COVID-19 challenges we had a good year at the state legislature. HB 2232 was passed which increased per capita grant allotments to schools and libraries. The online resources task force bill (HB 2071) did not advance and the Diversity in Literature bill (HB 3254) will probably not be resurrected due to push back from legislators.

Media Literacy (HB 234) passed but Derek cautioned about having mandates in bills ILA strongly supports as the library world is usually against mandates, especially unfunded mandates in legislation. Derek has received comments from Springfield about ILA's support of this law with the mandate. He gave a good explanation of being careful in the future with unfunded mandates and feels it is better to leave such issues to local control. Derek stated that there are mandates in bills but it is normally life and health safety legislative aspects. Committee members felt that, in this instance, the bill was important enough to support with the mandate. Derek stressed, again, the importance of staying in contact with legislators.

ILA Public Policy Principles

Several documents were sent to committee members pertaining to the first draft on ILA policy principles, and DEI (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion) statement. A discussion ensued among the PPC members about changes in some of the language to better understand and represent ILA's standing. The principles were taken from previous documents and then expanded on to address more current issues. Acronyms should be spelled out. Wording in the bullet points of the document were discussed and language changes made. Diversity definitions were clarified and the wording "economies of scale" will be simplified. There was a detailed discussion on supporting or opposing PTELL (Property Tax Extension Limitation Law) legislation and the wording of the bullet points in the document. There will be more discussion on this topic at the next meeting once the language has been reviewed and /or changed.

PPC Handbook

It is important, especially for incoming new members, to have a template going forward on the committee. Jeanne Hamilton has been going through past documents to come up with common language for a comprehensive committee statement. PPC members believe having a handbook would be beneficial so a motion was made to create a PPC Handbook by Sam Adams-Lanham, seconded by Dee Anna Phares, motion carried.

Updating PPC Timeline

Originally, legislative bills were initiated in September. That timeline was very hectic in trying to get something passed so it was decided to begin the process in July but even that does not appear to be early enough. Considering when legislators are in session it was discussed moving the timeline to start soliciting proposals for new legislation in May. Committee members thought this was a good idea.

PPC expired terms

Several members' terms on the PPC Committee have expired. Chair Matthews thanked Marian Albers, Dennis Danowski, Molly Beestrum, Karolyn Nance, Kathy Parker, and Scott Pointon for their contributions to PPC.

Closed Session

Chair Matthews moved to go into closed session at 11:45am to discuss the McClarren Legislative Award.

Senator Pat McGuire has been nominated. After reviewing the nomination application the committee felt he was very deserving of the award having been an avid supporter of libraries in his district. Open session was resumed at 11:53am. Scott Pointon made the motion to nominate Senator McGuire for the McClarren Award, it was seconded by Catherine Yanikoski, the motion carried. The award will be presented at the Illinois Library Association conference.

Chair Daniel Matthews called for adjournment. Kathy Parker made the motion to adjourn, second by Marian Albers, motion carried.

No further business meeting was adjourned at 12:05.

Respectfully submitted,

Marian Albers