Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee Monday, May 1, 2023 - 10:00 AM

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82414705162

Meeting ID: 824 1470 5162

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- Approval of Agenda: May 1, 2023
 Approval of Minutes: <u>April 3, 2023</u>
- 4. Updates
 - a. ILA Public Policy Committee (Ryan Livergood, PPC Chair)
 - b. ILA Executive Board (Heather Jagman, ILA President)
 - c. Illinois State Library (Greg McCormick, ISL Director)
 - d. Legislative Update (Derek Blaida)
- 5. Subcommittees
 - a. Conference Program/Noon Network Coordinating Nanette, Sara, Joanna, Qiana
 - b. Ready, Set, Advocate Training Modules Nanette, Gail, Dennis, Sam, Joanna, Qiana
 - c. ILA Reporter Articles Laura, Joanna, Chris
- 6. Old Business
 - a. Partnership with ALA's Government Documents Roundtable for ALA Conference Presentation (Gail/Nanette)
- 7. New Business
- 8. Adjournment

Committee Charge

- Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
- Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
- Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
- Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
- Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
- Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Voting Members:

Nanette Donohue* - Champaign Public Library
Gail Graziani* - Indian Prairie Public Library
Sam Adams-Lanham - Barrington Area Library
Joanna Bertucci - Park Ridge Public Library
Victoria Blackmer - Robert R. Jones Public Library
Dennis Danowski - Macomb Public Library
Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library
Qiana Johnson - Dartmouth University
Laura Kirk - Green Hills Public Library District
Amanda McKay - Effingham Public Library
Sara Murray - Algonquin Area Public Library District

Ex officio Members:

Ryan Livergood - ILA PPC Chair, Warren-Newport Public Library District Cyndi Robinson – ILA Executive Director Heather Jagman - ILA President, DePaul University Library Ryan Johnson - ILA VP/President-Elect, O'Fallon Public Library Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library Alex Todd - ILA Board Liaison

Guests:

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers:

August 29, 2022 - Chris Houchens
October 3, 2022 - Qiana Johnson
November 7, 2022 - Amanda McKay
December 5, 2022 - Sam Adams-Lanham
January 9, 2023 - Victoria Blackmer
February 6, 2023 - Laura Kirk
March 6, 2023 - Sara Murray
April 3, 2023 - Dennis Danowski
May 1, 2023 - Joanna Bertucci

June 5, 2023 - Gail Graziani

All meetings are at 10 AM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another Advocacy Committee voting member.