## Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee

Monday, September 9, 2019 at 1:00pm Reaching Across Illinois Library System – Burr Ridge 125 Tower Dr., Burr Ridge, IL 60527

## **AGENDA**

PolyCom videoconference accessible locations: Vernon Area Public Library; Illinois State Library; ILA HQ; IHLS Carbondale; IHLS Edwardsville; IHLS Champaign.

Call in instructions: Dial 1-800-747-5150. Enter access code 7345145.

- Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. Introduction of Guests
- 3. Approval of Agenda: September 9, 2019
- 4. Approval of Minutes: May 6, 2019
- 5. Reports
  - a. ILA Executive Director, Diane Foote
  - b. ILA President, Molly Beestrum
  - c. ILA Legislative Consultant, Derek Blaida
  - d. ILA Public Policy Chair, Dennis Danowski
  - e. ILA Advocacy Co-Chairs, Jim Deiters & Alex Todd
- 6. Around the Table & Across the State
- 7. Review the Committee's Annual Calendar & the 2019-2020 Plan
- 8. 2019 ILA Conference Planning
  - a. ILA Advocacy Boot Camp
  - b. Legislator Panel Discussion
  - c. Consolidated Election Communication Tool
- 9. 2020 Legislative Meet-Ups
- Document Sharing: Uploading Minutes, Agendas, and Information
- 11. Advocacy in ILA's Strategic Plan
- 12. 2020 IAPD/IPRA Conference
- 13. Adjournment

## **Advocacy Committee's Charge**

Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association. Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board. Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda. Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life. Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board. Within this broad framework, collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

**Voting Members Present:** 

_ Betsy Adamowski Wheaton		Jim Deiters Oak Lawn	_		Nanette Donohue Champaign
_ Keith Michael Fiels ALA (retired)		Matthew Fruth Oak Park	_		Qiana Johnson Northwestern
_ Val Neylon City Colleges of Chicago		Michelle Nielsen Ott Methodist College of UnityPoint Health	_		Magan Szwarek Schaumburg
_ Alex Todd Prospect Heights		Jeffrey Wheeler UIC	_		Amanda Zagloba Chicago
Ex-Officio Members Present	t <b>:</b>				
Molly Beestrum	Dennis Danowski			Diane	e Foote
Columbia College	_	comb Public Library	_	ILA	croote
_ Veronica DeFazio Plainfield		e Kite Mile Regional	_	_	McCormick Library
Guests Present:					