Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee

Monday, January 6, 2020 at 1:00pm Reaching Across Illinois Library System – Burr Ridge 125 Tower Drive, Burr Ridge, IL 60527

AGENDA

RAILS Burr Ridge Conference Room B / Videoconference Room (In Person) RAILS East Peoria Atrium (Videoconference) Zoom (Telephone & online) Illinois Library Association / Videoconference (Videoconference) IHLS - Edwardsville (Videoconference) IHLS - Carbondale (Videoconference) IHLS - Champaign (Videoconference) Vernon Area Public Library District - Annex (Videoconference) Illinois State Library (ISL) Main Videoconference Room (Videoconference)

> Join Zoom Meeting https://railslibraries.zoom.us/j/839649866

> > Dial by your location 1 929 205 6099 or 1 669 900 6833 Meeting ID: 839 649 866

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. Introduction of Guests
- 3. Approval of Agenda: January 6, 2020
- 4. Approval of Minutes: December 2, 2019
- 5. Reports
 - a. ILA Executive Director, Diane Foote
 - b. ILA President, Molly Beestrum
 - c. ILA Legislative Consultant, Derek Blaida
 - d. ILA Public Policy Chair, Dennis Danowski
- 6. Around the Table & Across the State
- 7. Legislative Meet-Ups: Speak now or forever...
- 8. Reaching Forward Keith and Nanette
- 9. Advocacy Annual Calendar Jim and Jeffrey
- 10.2020 ILA Conference Proposals
- 11. Adjournment

Advocacy Committee's Charge

Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association. Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board. Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda. Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life. Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board. Within this broad framework, collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Voting Members Present:

Betsy Adamoski	Jim Deiters	Nanette Donohue
Wheaton	Oak Lawn	Champaign
Keith Michael Fiels	Matthew Fruth	Qiana Johnson
ALA (retired)	Oak Park	Northwestern
Val Neylon City Colleges of Chicago	Michelle Nielsen Ott Methodist College of Unity Point Health	Magan Swarek Schaumburg
Alex Todd	Jeffrey Wheeler	Amanda Zagloba
Prospect Heights	UIC	Chicago

Ex-Officio Members Present:

Molly Beestrum	Dennis Danowski	Diane Foote
Northwestern	Macomb	ILA
Veronica DeFazio	Kate Kite	Greg McCormick
Plainfield	Six-Mile Regional	State Library

Guests: