Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee Monday, May 2, 2022 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Minutes

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
 - a. Nanette called the meeting to order at 10:05 am

PRESENT

Voting Members:

Nanette Donohue* - Champaign Public Library

Magan Szwarek* - Schaumburg Township District Library

Keith Fiels - Retired/ALA

Matthew Fruth - Oak Park Public Library

Gail Graziani - Lisle Library District

Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library

Qiana Johnson - Northwestern University Libraries

Jeffrey Wheeler - U of I Chicago

Ex officio Members:

Sam Adams-Lanham - ILA PPC Chair, Barrington Public Library

Diane Foote - ILA

Cyndi Robinson-ILA

Jeanne Hamilton - ILA President, Bloomington Public Library

Heather Jagman - ILA VP/President-Elect, DePaul University

Derek Blaida- ILA Legislative Consultant

Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library

ABSENT

Voting Members:

Joanna Bertucci - Park Ridge Public Library

Kate Hall - Northbrook Public Library

Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library

Amanda McKay - Effingham Public Library

Valerie Neylon - City Colleges of Chicago

Ex officio Members:

Heather Jagman - ILA VP/President-Elect, DePaul University

Carmen Patlan - ILA Board Liaison, Highwood Public Library

- 2. Approval of Agenda: May 2, 2022 approved by unanimous consent
- 3. Approval of Minutes: April 4, 2022 approved by unanimous consent
- 4. Legislative agenda (PPC)
 - a. Sam Adams-Lanham and Diane Foote updated the committee on the progress of the various bills to be signed and led a discussion about potential adjustments to the committee's workload timeline with a possible goal of having the 2023 legislative initiatives filed in advance of the legislative meet-ups.
 - Reminder that PPC awards the <u>Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award</u>, and a request to encourage others to continue to nominate candidates. **Deadline is May** 15.
- 5. Conference programs
 - a. Reaching Forward

- Keith Fiels, Betsy Adamowski, and Magan Szwarek presented Ready, Set Advocate! at Reaching Forward South on April 8 and Reaching Forward on May 6.
- b. ILA Annual
 - i. Matthew Fruth will moderate the Legislator Panel program, legislators TBD.
 - ii. Keith, Betsy, and Magan will present a two-part Ready Set Advocate Bootcamp.
- 6. Bigger Than A Building Revamp Update
 - a. Story collection ideas Diane Foote provide a revised set of graphics for the committee to consider as part of of the story collection/Illinois Loves Libraries idea. After some discussion of the intended audience for the stories, the committee selected a concept to move forward with.
 - i. <u>Illinois Loves Libraries Logos</u>
- 7. Adjournment 10:26 a.m.

Committee Charge

- Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
- Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
- Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
- Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
- Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
- Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Advocacy Calendar Ready, Set, Advocate

Voting Members:

Nanette Donohue* - Champaign Public Library
Magan Szwarek* - Schaumburg Township District Library
Joanna Bertucci - Park Ridge Public Library
Keith Fiels - Retired/ALA
Matthew Fruth - Oak Park Public Library
Gail Graziani - Lisle Library District
Kate Hall - Northbrook Public Library
Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library
Qiana Johnson - Northwestern University Libraries
Amanda McKay - Effingham Public Library

Valerie Neylon - City Colleges of Chicago Jeffrey Wheeler - U of I Chicago

Ex officio Members:

Sam Adams-Lanham - ILA PPC Chair, Barrington Public Library Diane Foote - ILA Jeanne Hamilton - ILA President, Bloomington Public Library Heather Jagman - ILA VP/President-Elect, DePaul University Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library Carmen Patlan - ILA Board Liason, Highwood Public Library

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers:

August 30, 2021 - Joanna Bertucci

October 4, 2021 - Keith Fiels

November 1, 2021 - Gail Graziani

December 6, 2021 - Matthew Fruth

January 10, 2022 - Amanda McKay

February 7, 2022 - Chris Houchens

March 7, 2022 - Qiana Johnson

April 4, 2022 - Kate Hall

May 2, 2022 - Valerie Neylon

June 6, 2022 - Jeffrey Wheeler

All meetings are at 10 AM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another Advocacy Committee voting member.