Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee Monday, December 6, 2021, 10:00 AM Online Meeting Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 am by Magan Szwarek.

Attendance

Voting Members

Present: Magan Szwarek, Joanna Bertucci, Nanette Donohue, Gail Graziani, Kate Hall, Chris Houchens,

Amanda McKay, Jeffrey Wheeler, Matthew Fruth

Absent: Qiana Johnson (joined later in meeting), Keith Fiels, Jeff Wheeler

Ex-officio Members

Present: Sam Adams-Lanham, Diane Foote, Jeanne Hamilton, Heather Jagman, Greg McCormick

Absent: Marielle McNeal

Also Present: Derek Blaida, ILA Legislative Consultant, Cyndi Robinson ILA, Carmen Patlan ILA Board

Liaison

Approval of 12/6/21 Agenda: Approved by unanimous consent

Approval of 11/1/21 Minutes: Approved by unanimous consent

PPC Update: ILA Legislative Agenda

- Passed legislation creating committee looking at open educational resources at the college level.
- Watching legislation regarding best value bidder in place of lowest bidder.
- There might be ability to add libraries to existing legislation regarding broadband funding.
- Derek prepared draft legislation regarding e-books. PPC might ask for assistance in preparing materials in support of legislation. This assistance would be in form of statistic and story collection.

Legislative Meet-Up Update

- Meet-Ups are largely set and registration is ready to open. Schedule shared.
- Chicago representatives have been parceled out to suburban events.
- Coordinators will hear from Marcy about story collection.
- New logo designs were shared and voted on.
- "Palm card" was shared.

Ready, Set, Advocate! Update

- Marcy had updated language for Meet-Ups.
- Website has been updated for new modules.
- Discussed next step in pushing out to membership.

Proposals for Upcoming Conferences

- Suggestion for committee working group to develop ideas.
- Keith has submitted "Reaching Forward" and "Reaching Forward South."

Two additional ideas suggested were everyday advocacy and sharing primer on legislative cycle/process. The group briefly discussed how ideas were submitted in the past.

Bigger than a Building Revamp

- Link and navigation to dated information was removed from ILA site.
- Cindy will collect the prior version and convert in editable format.

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 11:07 AM by Magan.

Prepared by Matthew Fruth

Committee Charge

- Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
- Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
- Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
- Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
- Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
- Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Voting Members:

Nanette Donohue* - Champaign Public Library
Magan Szwarek* - Schaumburg Township District Library
Joanna Bertucci - Park Ridge Public Library
Keith Fiels - Retired/ALA
Matthew Fruth - Oak Park Public Library
Gail Graziani - Lisle Library District
Kate Hall - Northbrook Public Library
Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library
Qiana Johnson - Northwestern University Libraries
Amanda McKay - Effingham Library

Valerie Neylon - City Colleges of Chicago Jeffrey Wheeler - U of I Chicago

Ex officio Members:

Sam Adams-Lanham - ILA PPC Chair, Barrington Public Library Diane Foote - ILA Jeanne Hamilton - ILA President, Bloomington Public Library Heather Jagman - ILA VP/President-Elect, DePaul University Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library Carmen Patlan - ILA Board Liason, Highwood Public Library

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers:

August 30, 2021 - Joanna Bertucci

October 4, 2021 - Keith Fiels

November 1, 2021 - Gail Graziani

December 6, 2021 - Matthew Fruth

January 10, 2022 - Kate Hall

February 7, 2022 - Chris Houchens

March 7, 2022 - Qiana Johnson

April 4, 2022 - Amanda McKay

May 2, 2022 - Valerie Neylon

June 6, 2022 - Jeffrey Wheeler

All meetings are at 10 AM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another Advocacy Committee voting member.