# Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee Monday, August 28, 2023, 1:00 - 3:00

Recurring Online Meeting: <a href="https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88517260623">https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88517260623</a>

#### Minutes

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Gail Graziani at 1:01pm

**Voting Members:** 

Present: Gail Graziani, Betsy Adamowski, Sam Adams-Lanham, Joanna Bertucci, Dennis Danowski, Monica Dombrowski, Nanette Donohue, Chris Houchens, Laura Kirk, Tim

Prendergast

Absent: Amanda McKay, Victoria Blackmer

Ex-Officio Members:

Present: Amy Byers, Kyla Waltermire, Cyndi Robinson, Alex Todd Absent: Ryan Johnson, Heather Jagman, Greg McCormick

Guests: No guests present

Also Present: Derek Blaida, ILA Legislative Consultant

2. Approval of Agenda: August 28, 2023

Approved by unanimous consent

3. Approval of Minutes: June 19, 2023

Approved by unanimous consent

- 4. Subcommittee Formation:
  - a. Ready, Set, Advocate Training Modules
  - b. Legislative Meet-ups
  - c. Other Advocacy Tools / Webpage Update
  - d. Conference Programs and Ongoing Advocacy Training
  - e. ILA Reporter Article / Other?

Members were encouraged to email Gail with their preferred subcommittees. Gail will compile the list of subcommittees and email them out.

- 5. Discussion of holding subcommittee breakout sessions following meetings (Sam / Cyndi)

  As it can be difficult for Committee Members to find time outside of the regularly scheduled

  Advocacy Committee meetings for their subcommittees, the idea of using part of the regular

  meetings to have the subcommittees meet was proposed. This idea was well received by the

  Committee.
- 6. Legislative Meet-Up Survey Results and Discussion (Cyndi)

Most responders to the survey had been active with prior meet-ups, and most responders are open to the meet-ups occurring at a different time of the year. Cyndi and Derek have created and proposed a new schedule for the Legislative meet-ups:

Tuesday, November 28

Metro East – Breakfast

Southern – Lunch

Motion to accept the new dates by Sam Adams-Lanham Second by Dennis Danowski Yeas: 10, Nays: 0

7. Adjournment Adjourned at 1:48pm

### **Committee Charge**

- Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
- Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
- Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
- Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
- Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
- Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

### **Voting Members:**

Gail Graziani\* - Indian Prairie Public Library
Amanda McKay\* - Effingham Public Library
Betsy Adamowski – Wheaton Public Library
Sam Adams-Lanham - Barrington Area Library
Joanna Bertucci – Park Ridge Public Library
Victoria Blackmer - Robert R. Jones Public Library
Dennis Danowski - Macomb Public Library
Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka-Northfield Public Library District
Nanette Donohue - Champaign Public Library
Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library
Laura Kirk - Green Hills Public Library District

# Tim Prendergast – Hodgkins Public Library District

#### **Ex officio Members:**

Amy Byers – Chatham Area Public Library District
Ryan Johnson - ILA VP/President-Elect, O'Fallon Public Library
Heather Jagman - ILA President, DePaul University Library
Kyla Waltermire - ILA PPC Chair, Mississippi Valley Library District
Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library
Cyndi Robinson – ILA Executive Director
Alex Todd – Board Liaison, Prospect Heights Public Library District

#### **Guests:**

# Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers:

August 28, 2023 - Chris Houchens
October 2, 2023 - Sam Adams-Lanham
November 6, 2023 - Tim Prendergast
December 4, 2023 - Monica Dombrowski
January 8, 2024 - Victoria Blackmer
February 5, 2024 - Laura Kirk
March 4, 2024 - Betsy Adamowski
April 1, 2024 - Dennis Danowski
May 6, 2024 - Joanna Bertucci
June 3, 2024 - Gail Graziani

All meetings are at 1:00 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another Advocacy Committee voting member.