# Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee Monday, October 4, 2021 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

ILA committee meetings are open to ILA members to observe. If you are interested in sitting in as an observer, please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote at <a href="mailto:dfoote@ila.org">dfoote@ila.org</a>.

#### **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- Approval of Agenda: October 4, 2021
   Approval of Minutes: <u>August 30, 2021</u>
   PPC Update: ILA Legislative Agenda
- 5. Ready, Set, Advocate!
  - a. Draft webpage
  - b. Launch Plan
- 6. ILA Conference Programs
- 7. 2022 Legislative Meet-up
  - a. Planning Document Review
- 8. Adjournment

### **Committee Charge**

- Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
- Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
- Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
- Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
- Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
- Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

## **Advocacy Calendar**

### **Voting Members:**

Nanette Donohue\* - Champaign Public Library Magan Szwarek\* - Schaumburg Township District Library Joanna Bertucci - Park Ridge Public Library Keith Fiels - Retired/ALA Matthew Fruth - Oak Park Public Library
Gail Graziani - Lisle Library District
Kate Hall - Northbrook Public Library
Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library
Qiana Johnson - Northwestern University Libraries
Amanda McKay - Effingham Public Library
Valerie Neylon - City Colleges of Chicago
Jeffrey Wheeler - U of I Chicago

### **Ex officio Members:**

Sam Adams-Lanham - ILA PPC Chair, Barrington Public Library Diane Foote - ILA Jeanne Hamilton - ILA President, Bloomington Public Library Heather Jagman - ILA VP/President-Elect, DePaul University Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library Marielle McNeal - ILA Board Liason, Edward Hines VA Hospital

#### **Guests:**

\_\_\_\_\_

## Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers:

August 30, 2021 - Joanna Bertucci

October 4, 2021 - Keith Fiels

November 1, 2021 - Matthew Fruth

December 6, 2021 - Gail Graziani

January 10, 2022 - Kate Hall

February 7, 2022 - Chris Houchens

March 7, 2022 - Qiana Johnson

April 4, 2022 - Amanda McKay

May 2, 2022 - Valerie Neylon

June 6, 2022 - Jeffrey Wheeler

All meetings are at 10 AM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another Advocacy Committee voting member.