# Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee Monday, March 4, 2024 - 1:00pm

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86318476716

#### **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. Approval of Agenda: March 4, 2024
- 3. Approval of Minutes: February 5, 2024
- 4. Updates
  - a. ILA Public Policy Committee (Kyla Waltermire, PPC Chair)
  - b. ILA Executive Board (Ryan Johnson, ILA President)
  - c. Illinois State Library (Greg McCormick, ISL Director)
  - d. Legislative Update (Derek Blaida)
- 5. Recap of Recent Programs / Upcoming Programs (Nanette, Joanna, Tim)
  - a. AISLE proposal deadline March 31st
- 6. Subcommittee Updates
  - a. Ready, Set, Advocate Training Modules: Tim, Nanette, Monica, Sam, Joanna
  - b. Legislative Meet-ups: Betsy, Laura, Chris
  - c. Webpage Update / Other Advocacy Tools: Chris, Monica, Sam, Gail
  - d. Conference Programs and Ongoing Advocacy Training: Nanette, Tim
  - e. ILA Reporter Article: Laura, Joanna
- 7. Old Business
  - a. More Than a Building
- 8. New Business
- 9. Adjournment

## **Committee Charge**

- Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
- Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
- Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
- Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
- Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
- Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

### **Voting Members:**

Gail Graziani\* - Indian Prairie Public Library

Amanda McKay\* - Effingham Public Library

Betsy Adamowski – Wheaton Public Library

Sam Adams-Lanham - Barrington Area Library

Joanna Bertucci – Park Ridge Public Library

Sara Murray - Algonquin Area Public Library District

Dennis Danowski - Macomb Public Library

Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka-Northfield Public Library District

Nanette Donohue - Champaign Public Library

Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library

Laura Kirk – Churchill Elementary School

Tim Prendergast – Hodgkins Public Library District

### **Ex officio Members:**

Amy Byers – ILA VP/President-Elect, Chatham Area Public Library District

Ryan Johnson - ILA President, O'Fallon Public Library

Heather Jagman - ILA Past President, DePaul University Library

Kyla Waltermire - ILA PPC Chair, Mississippi Valley Library District

Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library

Cyndi Robinson – ILA Executive Director

Alex Todd – Board Liaison, Prospect Heights Public Library District

#### **Guests:**

# Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers:

August 28, 2023 - Chris Houchens

October 2, 2023 - Sam Adams-Lanham

November 6, 2023 - Tim Prendergast

December 4, 2023 - Monica Dombrowski

January 8, 2024 – Sara Murray

February 5, 2024 - Laura Kirk

March 4, 2024 – Betsy Adamowski

April 1, 2024 - Dennis Danowski

May 6, 2024 – Joanna Bertucci

June 3, 2024 – Gail Graziani

All meetings are at 1:00 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another Advocacy Committee voting member.