Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee Monday, January 10, 2022 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Zoom

ILA committee meetings are open for ILA members to attend as guests/observers. If you would like to attend this meeting, please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote at dfoote@ila.org.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- Approval of Agenda: January 10, 2022
 Approval of Minutes: December 6, 2022
- 4. Legislative agenda (PPC)
- 5. Legislative Meet-ups
- 6. Conference program proposals
- 7. Bigger Than A Building Revamp
- 8. Adjournment

Committee Charge

- Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
- Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
- Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
- Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
- Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
- Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Advocacy Calendar
Interactive Legislative Map

Voting Members:

Nanette Donohue* - Champaign Public Library Magan Szwarek* - Schaumburg Township District Library Joanna Bertucci - Park Ridge Public Library Keith Fiels - Retired/ALA Matthew Fruth - Oak Park Public Library
Gail Graziani - Lisle Library District
Kate Hall - Northbrook Public Library
Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library
Qiana Johnson - Northwestern University Libraries
Amanda McKay - Effingham Public Library
Valerie Neylon - City Colleges of Chicago
Jeffrey Wheeler - U of I Chicago

Ex officio Members:

Sam Adams-Lanham - ILA PPC Chair, Barrington Public Library Diane Foote - ILA Jeanne Hamilton - ILA President, Bloomington Public Library Heather Jagman - ILA VP/President-Elect, DePaul University Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library Carmen Patlan - ILA Board Liason, Highwood Public Library

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers:

August 30, 2021 - Joanna Bertucci October 4, 2021 - Keith Fiels November 1, 2021 - Matthew Fruth December 6, 2021 - Gail Graziani January 10, 2022 - Kate Hall February 7, 2022 - Chris Houchens March 7, 2022 - Qiana Johnson April 4, 2022 - Amanda McKay May 2, 2022 - Valerie Neylon June 6, 2022 - Jeffrey Wheeler

All meetings are at 10 AM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another Advocacy Committee voting member.