Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee

Monday, April 5, 2021 at 1:00pm Virtual Meeting

AGENDA

Join Zoom Meeting

ILA committee meetings are open to ILA members as observers/ guests. Please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote at dfoote@ila.org for access to the meeting login.

- Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. Introduction of Guests
- 3. Approval of Agenda: April 5, 2021
- 4. Approval of Minutes: March 1, 2021
- 5. Reports
 - a. ILA Executive Director, Diane Foote
 - b. ILA President, Veronica DeFazio
 - c. ILA Legislative Consultant, Derek Blaida
 - d. ILA Public Policy Chair, Daniel Matthews
- 6. Around the Table & Across the State
- 7. Legislative meetups review Diane
- 8. Reaching Forward program update Keith
- 9. ILA Conference Submittals
 - a. Legislator panel discussion Magan
 - b. "It's Just a Bill, Yes It's Only a Bill" legislation from conception to signature Gail
 - c. "Library Funding for Beginners" the basics of library funding Qiana
- 10. Presentations and E-opportunities for 2021-22
- 11. Committee Composition for 2021-22
- 12. Adjournment

Advocacy Committee's Charge

Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association. Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board. Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda. Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life. Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board. Within this broad framework, collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Voting Members Present:

Betsy Adamowski Nanette Donohue Keith Fiels Wheaton Public Library Champaign Public Library Retired/ALA

Matthew Fruth Gail Graziani Qiana Johnson

Oak Park Public Library Board Lisle Library District Northwestern University

Amanda McKay Val Neylon Magan Szwarek*

Effingham Public Library City Colleges of Chicago Schaumburg Twp District Library

Alex Todd* Jeffrey Wheeler Amanda Zagloba
Prospect Heights Public Library U of I Chicago Chicago Public Library

Ex-Officio Members Present:

Veronica DeFazio Diane Foote Jeanne Hamilton

ILA President ILA ILA VP/President Elect

Marielle McNeal Daniel Matthews Greg McCormick
ILA Board Liaison ILA PPC Chair Illinois State Library

Guests:
