Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee

Monday, August 31, 2020 at 1:00pm Reaching Across Illinois Library System – Burr Ridge 125 Tower Drive, Burr Ridge, IL 60527

AGENDA

Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81576986152

Dial by your location (312) 626-6799 Meeting ID: 815 7698 6152

- Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. Introduction of Guests
- 3. Approval of Agenda: August 31, 2020
- 4. Approval of Minutes: July 16, 2020
- 5. Reports
 - a. ILA Executive Director, Diane Foote
 - b. ILA President, Veronica DeFazio
 - c. ILA Legislative Consultant, Derek Blaida
 - d. ILA Public Policy Chair, Daniel Matthews
- 6. Around the Table & Across the State
- 7. Train the trainer Keith, Betsy, Magan
- 8. Committee Composition Statement Jeffrey and Nanette
- 9. Legislative meetups
- 10. Advocating for diversity in libraries
- 11. ILA Annual Conference Panel discussion Alex, Magan, and Jim D.
- 12. Health Science Librarians of Illinois conference
- 13. Adjournment

Advocacy Committee's Charge

Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association. Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board. Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda. Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life. Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board. Within this broad framework, collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Voting Members Present:

Betsy Adamowski Nanette Donohue Keith Fiels Wheaton Public Library Champaign Public Library Retired/ALA

Matthew Fruth Gail Graziani Qiana Johnson

Oak Park Public Library Board Lisle Library District Northwestern University

Amanda McKay Val Neylon Magan Szwarek*

Effingham Public Library City Colleges of Chicago Schaumburg Twp District Library

Alex Todd* Jeffrey Wheeler Amanda Zagloba
Prospect Heights Public Library U of I Chicago Chicago Public Library

Ex-Officio Members Present:

Veronica DeFazioDiane FooteJeanne HamiltonILA PresidentILAILA VP/President Elect

Marielle McNealDaniel MatthewsGreg McCormickILA Board LiaisonILA PPC ChairIllinois State Library

Guests: