Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee AGENDA Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 1:00pm

This meeting will be held as part of the ILA Orientation workshop. It will be held via Zoom. Join Zoom Meeting

<u>Click Here to Join</u> Dial by your location 1 929 205 6099 or 1 669 900 6833 Meeting ID: 862 3328 6685

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. Introductions Name, Library and what brought you to the AC
- 3. Approval of Agenda: July 16, 2020
- 4. Approval of Minutes: June 1, 2020
- 5. Advocacy Committee Overview Charge, By-laws and current projects
- 6. 2020-21 Existing projects
 - a. Legislative Meet-ups
 - What are they
 - Alternative possibilities
 - b. Advocacy training -
 - Reaching Forward, ILA Conference, etc.
 - Committee train-the-trainer
 - c. Committee Composition Statement
- 7. 2020-21 New ideas
 - a. Advocacy and COVID How can we continue our traditional advocacy efforts during the pandemic?
 - b. COVID and Advocacy How does the pandemic influence advocacy
- 8. Adjournment

Advocacy Committee's Charge

Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association. Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board. Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda. Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life. Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board. Within this broad framework, collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Voting Members Present:

Betsy Adamowski Wheaton Public Library	Nanette Donahue Champaign Public Library	Keith Fiels Retired/ALA
Matthew Fruth	Gail Graziani	Qiana Johnson
Oak Park Public Library Board	Lisle Library District	Northwestern University
Amanda McKay	Val Neylon	Magan Szwarek*
Effingham Public Library	City Colleges of Chicago	Schaumburg Twp District Library
Alex Todd*	Jeffrey Wheeler	Amanda Zagloba
Prospect Heights Public Library	U of I Chicago	Chicago Public Library
*Committee Co-Chairs		

Ex-Officio Members Present:

Veronica DeFazio	Diane Foote	Jeanne Hamilton
ILA President	ILA	ILA VP/President Elect
Marielle McNeal	Daniel Matthews	Greg McCormick
ILA Board Liaison	ILA PPC Chair	Illinois State Library

Guests: