Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee

Monday, May 3, at 1:00pm Virtual Meeting

AGENDA

Join Zoom Meeting

ILA committee meetings are open to ILA members to attend as observers. If you would like to attend, please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote at <u>dfoote@ila.org</u>.

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. Introduction of Guests
- 3. Approval of Agenda: May 3, 2021
- 4. Approval of Minutes: April 5, 2021
- 5. Reports
 - a. ILA Executive Director, Diane Foote
 - b. ILA President, Veronica DeFazio
 - c. ILA Legislative Consultant, Derek Blaida
 - d. ILA Public Policy Chair, Daniel Matthews
- 6. Around the Table & Across the State
- 7. "Ready, Set, Advocate!" ILA Advocacy toolkit and training program Betsy
- 8. ILA Conference Submittals update Magan, Alex
- 9. Adjournment

Advocacy Committee's Charge

Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association. Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board. Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda. Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life. Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board. Within this broad framework, collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Voting Members Present:

Betsy Adamowski Wheaton Public Library

Matthew Fruth Oak Park Public Library Board

Amanda McKay Effingham Public Library

Alex Todd* Prospect Heights Public Library

Ex-Officio Members Present:

Veronica DeFazio ILA President

Marielle McNeal ILA Board Liaison Champaign Public Library

Gail Graziani Lisle Library District

Nanette Donohue

Val Neylon City Colleges of Chicago

Jeffrey Wheeler U of I Chicago

Diane Foote

Daniel Matthews

ILA PPC Chair

ILA

Keith Fiels Retired/ALA

Qiana Johnson Northwestern University

Magan Szwarek* Schaumburg Twp District Library

Amanda Zagloba Chicago Public Library

Jeanne Hamilton ILA VP/President Elect

Greg McCormick Illinois State Library

Guests: