Illinois Library Association Advocacy Committee Monday, August 28, 2023, 1:00 - 3:00 Recurring Online Meeting: <u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88517260623</u>

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. Approval of Agenda: August 28, 2023
- 3. Approval of Minutes: June 19, 2023
- 4. Subcommittee Formation:
 - a. Ready, Set, Advocate Training Modules
 - b. Legislative Meet-ups
 - c. Other Advocacy Tools / Webpage Update
 - d. Conference Programs and Ongoing Advocacy Training
 - e. ILA Reporter Article / Other?
- 5. Discussion of holding subcommittee breakout sessions following meetings (Sam / Cyndi)
- 6. Legislative Meet-Up Survey Results and Discussion (Cyndi)
- 7. Adjournment

Committee Charge

- Supports the targeted advocacy efforts set forth by the American Library Association and the Illinois Library Association
- Strives to unite ILA members behind advocacy efforts set forth by the ILA Executive Board;
- Works in tandem with the Public Policy Committee (PPC) to implement an annual legislative agenda;
- Provides ILA members with the tools to make local, statewide, and national advocacy an integral part of their professional life;
- Develops a long-range advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; and
- Within this broad framework collaborates with the ILA President and ILA Executive Director to set an annual calendar of advocacy activities and to create communications, materials, and training in support of these activities.

Voting Members:

Gail Graziani* - Indian Prairie Public Library Amanda McKay* - Effingham Public Library Betsy Adamowski – Wheaton Public Library Sam Adams-Lanham - Barrington Area Library Joanna Bertucci – Park Ridge Public Library Victoria Blackmer - Robert R. Jones Public Library Dennis Danowski - Macomb Public Library Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka-Northfield Public Library District Nanette Donohue - Champaign Public Library Chris Houchens - Charleston Carnegie Public Library Laura Kirk - Green Hills Public Library District Tim Prendergast – Hodgkins Public Library District

Ex officio Members:

Amy Byers – Chatham Area Public Library District Ryan Johnson - ILA VP/President-Elect, O'Fallon Public Library Heather Jagman - ILA President, DePaul University Library Kyla Waltermire - ILA PPC Chair, Mississippi Valley Library District Greg McCormick - Illinois State Library Cyndi Robinson – ILA Executive Director Alex Todd – Board Liaison, Prospect Heights Public Library District

Guests:

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers:

August 28, 2023 - Chris Houchens October 2, 2023 – Sam Adams-Lanham November 6, 2023 – Tim Prendergast December 4, 2023 - Monica Dombrowski January 8, 2024 - Victoria Blackmer February 5, 2024 - Laura Kirk March 4, 2024 – Betsy Adamowski April 1, 2024 - Dennis Danowski May 6, 2024 – Joanna Bertucci June 3, 2024 – Gail Graziani

All meetings are at 1:00 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another Advocacy Committee voting member.