ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION

Because Libraries Matter

Illinois Library Association 560 W. Washington Blvd., Suite 330 Chicago, IL 60661-2692

Phone: 312.644.1896 Fax: 312.644.1899 Email: ila@ila.org

Press Release

The Illinois Library Association's (ILA) Public Policy Committee is honored to present the Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award to Illinois State Senator Laura Murphy. This award recognizes individuals within the Illinois library community, be it a librarian, trustee, legislator, or library, who have made significant contributions to legislative development in the state.

Hailing from Park Ridge, Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) graduated from Illinois State University, where she obtained a bachelor's degree in political science. With a strong commitment to her community, she has actively served the Des Plaines area for the past two decades, including eight years as an alderman representing the city's 3rd Ward.

In 2015, Murphy was appointed to the Illinois State Senate as the representative for the 28th Senate District. This district, which includes areas such as Arlington Heights, Des Plaines, Elk Grove Village, Hanover Park, Hoffman Estates, Mount Prospect, Park Ridge, Rolling Meadows, Roselle, and Schaumburg, neighbors the O'Hare International Airport.

Recognizing her exceptional leadership abilities, Murphy was appointed Deputy Majority Leader of the Senate in 2020, and subsequently promoted to the role of Assistant Majority Leader in 2023. Additionally, she serves as the chair of the Committee on Executive Appointments and holds membership in several committees, including Appropriations, Assignments, Executive, Higher Education, Labor, Local Government, Public Health, and Transportation.

Throughout her tenure, Senator Murphy has been a staunch advocate for various legislative measures that have had a profound impact on the Illinois library community. Some notable achievements include:

- Senate Bill 2419: Senator Murphy played a pivotal role in championing this bill, which empowers the Secretary of State, acting as the State librarian, to negotiate with publishers on behalf of libraries. The objective is to secure licenses for e-books and audiobooks, ensuring broader access to digital literary resources.
- House Bill 5283 and House Bill 4073: Senator Murphy actively supported these bills, which grant the State Librarian the authority to fill vacancies in library boards of trustees when the board fails to do so within the time limit specified by the Public Library District Act of 1991. This measure helps ensure the smooth functioning of library boards and their continued ability to serve their communities effectively.
- Senate Bill 2232: Senator Murphy played a pivotal role in the passage of this bill, which increases the maximum per capita amount for State Librarian grants to public libraries. The funding per capita is raised from \$1.25 to \$1.475, benefiting public libraries across the state. Additionally, the bill increases State Librarian grants to school libraries from \$0.75 per student to \$0.885 per student, with the aim of providing each qualifying school district with a total grant of at least \$850.
- Senate Bill 3497: Senator Murphy supported this bill, which enables library boards to adopt regulations waiving nonresident fees for individuals under the age of 18. The bill also allows fee waivers based on household income data below the USDA income eligibility guidelines. This measure promotes equitable access to library services for young individuals and those from economically disadvantaged backgrounds.

Additionally, in the 2022 Budget Implementation Bill, Senator Laura Murphy fought for a provision that allocated funds to Reach Out and Read Illinois. The funding facilitated the provision of books to pediatric and family doctor's offices, ensuring that children receive a book during each visit. This innovative approach encourages parental engagement and increased reading frequency at home, ultimately fostering early literacy development.

Senator Murphy has achieved a significant milestone this year with the successful sponsorship of HB 2789, a groundbreaking legislation aimed at safeguarding against book banning. This crucial bill, which has recently been signed into law by Governor JB Pritzker, marks a major victory in the fight to protect intellectual freedom and ensure access to diverse literature for all.

Senator Laura Murphy's dedication and impactful contributions to legislative development make her an outstanding recipient of the Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award. The Illinois Library Association commends her for her unwavering commitment to the advancement of libraries and the broader community throughout the state of Illinois.

The ILA Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award will be presented at an awards ceremony during the 2023 Illinois Library Association Annual Conference. The conference will take place October 24-26 in Springfield, Illinois.

For more information, contact the Illinois Library Association.

For Immediate Release