## ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

#### August 7, 2023 Agenda Minutes Taker: Mike Driskell

## https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81947503931

Meeting ID: 819 4750 3931

## **Voting Members**

Kyla Waltermire – Mississippi Valley District Library	Anne Craig – Consortium of Academic & Research
(CHAIR)	Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
Mike Driskell - Arlington Heights Memorial Library	Gail Graziani – Indian Prairie Public Library,
Anna Karwowska - Winnetka-Northfield Public	Advocacy Committee
Library District	Monica Harris – Reaching Across Illinois Library
John Kokoris – Gail Borden Public Library District	System (RAILS)
Laura Long – East Moline Public Library	Lou Ann Jacobs – Association of Illinois School
Jamie Paicely, Flossmoor Public Library	Library Educators (AISLE)
Tana Petrov - Fountaindale Public Library District	Heather Jagman – DePaul University, ILA Past
Donna Schaal – Argenta-Oreana Public Library	President
District	Ryan Johnson - O'Fallon Public Library, ILA President
Aaron Skog – System Wide Automated Network	Elizabeth Lynch - Addison Public Library, Intellectual
Tom Stagg - Alpha Park Public Library District	Freedom Committee
Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library	Greg McCormick – Illinois State Library
	Amanda McKay – Effingham Public Library,
Ex officio Members	Advocacy Committee
Derek Blaida – ILA Legislative Consultant	Ellen Popit – Illinois Heartland Library System (ILHS)
Amy Byers – Chatham Area Public Library District,	Cynthia Robinson – ILA Executive Director

**ILA President-Elect** 

## Introduction of guests

## Item & member responsible

# • Call to order and roll call - Kyla, Mike

- Review agenda for changes and additions—ALL 1-2 minutes
- Approve 2023-07-19 minutes—ALL •
- Review of legislative proposals Kyla, Cyndi 60-90 minutes •

## • Calendar for proposals

- District Tax Cannabis Proposal
- Competitive Bidding Raised
- Acquisition of Treasurer Bonds for Libraries in Illinois
- Equitable Access to Electronic Literacy Materials Act
- Amend the Local Records Act to Streamline Disposal of Records
- General fund flexibility (2022-23)
- Committee voting / ranking process ranked choice voting
- Federal update Cyndi
- 5 minutes 5 minutes
- State update Derek, Cyndi
  - SB 0851 Broadband Advisory Council Act to expand the Illinois Century Network

## Time allotted

2 minutes

2-3 minutes

## ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

- Public Act 103-0402 Requires ISBE Develops Comprehensive Literacy Plan
- Old business ALL •
- New business ALL

0-5 minutes 0-5 minutes

Adjournment – Kyla 1 minute •

## Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers

August 28, 2023	Anna Karwowska
October 2, 20223	John Kokoris
November 6, 2023	Laura Long
December 4, 2023	Jamie Paicely
January 8, 2024	Tana Petrov
February 5, 2024	Aaron Skog
March 4, 2024	Tom Stagg
April 1, 2024	Donna Schaal
May 6, 2024	Nikeda Webb
June 3, 2024	Member to be appointed

All meetings are scheduled 10:00-12:00 p.m. All meetings will be held on Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another PPC voting member.

## **PPC resources**

- https://www.ila.org/about/committee/13/public-policy-committee
- https://www.ila.org/advocacy/legislative-issues/federal-legislative-issues
- https://www.ila.org/advocacy/legislative-issues/illinois-legislative-issues
- https://www.ila.org/advocacy/creating-or-changing-illinois-state-libr
- Public Policy Principles