ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

2022-6-7 Agenda	Minutes taken by Nikeda Webb
<u>Voting Members</u>	Ex officio Members
Sam Adams-Lanham – Barrington Area Library	Suzanne Arist or Betsy Mahoney
Brian Chase – Normal Public Library	Intellectual Freedom Committee
Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka Northfield Public	Derek Blaida – ILA Legislative Consultant
Library District	Deirdre Brennan – Reaching Across Illinois Library
Melissa Gardner – Palatine Public Library District	System (RAILS)
Ryan Livergood – Warren-Newport Public Library	Elizabeth Clarage – Consortium of Academic &
District	Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
Rebecca Malinowski – Cooperative Computer	Veronica De Fazio – Plainfield Public Library District-
Services	ILA Past President
Daniel Matthews – Moraine Valley Community	Nanette Donohue – Champaign Public Library-
College Library	Advocacy Committee
Dee Anna Phares – Northern Illinois University	Diane Foote – ILA Executive Director
Libraries	Jeanne Hamilton – Bloomington Public Library- ILA
Donna Schaal – Argenta-Oreana Public Library	President
District	Heather Jagman - DePaul University- ILA President-
Kyla Waltermire – Mississippi Valley District Library	Elect
Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library	Lou Ann Jacobs – Association of Illinois School
Catherine Yanikoski - Engineering Systems, Inc	Library Educators (AISLE)
	Greg McCormick – Illinois State Library
	Patrick Molloy – Chicago Public Library
	Ellen Popit – Illinois Heartland Library System (IHLS)
	Magan Szwarek – Schaumburg Township District
	Library- Advocacy Committee
Introduction of guests–please put your name and affilia	tion in the chat
	anon in the chat
Itam 9 mambar raspansible	Time alletted
Item & member responsible	Time allotted
→ Take attendanceNikeda Webb	2-3 minutes
→ Review agenda for changes and additions—ALL	1-2 minutes
→ Approve <u>2022-5 minutes</u> —ALL	2-3 minutes
→ Advocacy updateMagan or Nanette	5-10 minutes
•	
→ Report out from ILA Exec Board–Jeanne Hamilto	on 2 minutes
→ Federal update-Diane Foote	5 minutes
Cuciai apaace Biane roote	5 milates
→ State update—Derek Blaida. Diane Foote & othe	ers 45-60 minutes

ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

- ◆ Governor signing bills
- ◆ PPC/Legislative Timeline update
 - Draft of 2023 Proposal Development Timeline
 - Example of one-pager in support of proposal
- ◆ Two potential bills for 2022-23

→ New/other business

- ◆ Thank you all for your investment of time and energy to the Public Policy Committee. On a personal note, I have very much enjoyed working with and learning from you all over the last three years, and I know Ryan will bring great things to the table!
- We are all interested in ensuring funded universal library service across the state. As we consider 2022-23 legislative proposals, we encourage you to focus on initiatives that would reduce the number of unserved areas and residents.
- ◆ PPC bestows the <u>Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award</u>. The voting members will select a recipient from the five nominees. We ask that ex officio members and guests remove themselves from the meeting at this time.
 - Voting members: please check emails to read the submitted nominations

<u>Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers</u>
July! Orientation

HTTPS://US02WEB.ZOOM.US/J/87093884885; 312.626.6799; MEETING ID: 870 9388 4885

PPC Resources:

General committee info (includes past minutes & upcoming meeting dates)

ILA info on recent federal legislative work

ILA info on recent state legislative work

Creating or changing Illinois state library law

Legislative proposal form