ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

ILA committee meetings are open to ILA members as observers/guests. If you would like to attend, please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote at dfoote@ila.org.

2022-4-4 Agenda Minutes taken by Kyla Waltermire		
Voting Members	Ex officio Members	
Sam Adams-Lanham – Barrington Area Library	Suzanne Arist or Betsy Mahoney	
Brian Chase – Normal Public Library	Intellectual Freedom Committee	
<u>ab</u> Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka Northfield Public	Derek Blaida – ILA Legislative Consultant	
Library District	Deirdre Brennan – Reaching Across Illinois Library	
Melissa Gardner – Palatine Public Library District	System (RAILS)	
Ryan Livergood – Warren-Newport Public Library	Elizabeth Clarage – Consortium of Academic &	
District	Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)	
Rebecca Malinowski – Cooperative Computer	Veronica De Fazio – Plainfield Public Library District-	
Services	ILA Past President	
Daniel Matthews – Moraine Valley Community	Nanette Donohue – Champaign Public Library-	
College Library	Advocacy Committee	
Dee Anna Phares – Northern Illinois University	Diane Foote – ILA Executive Director	
Libraries	Jeanne Hamilton – Bloomington Public Library- ILA	
Donna Schaal – Argenta-Oreana Public Library	President	
District	ab_ Heather Jagman - DePaul University- ILA President-	
_ Kyla Waltermire – Mississippi Valley District Library Elect		
Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library	Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library Lou Ann Jacobs – Association of Illinois School	
? Catherine Yanikoski - Engineering Systems, Inc	Library Educators (AISLE)	
	Greg McCormick – Illinois State Library	
	Patrick Molloy – Chicago Public Library	
	Ellen Popit – Illinois Heartland Library System (IHLS)	
	Magan Szwarek – Schaumburg Township District	
	Library- Advocacy Committee	

Introduction of guests

	Item & member responsible	Time allotted
→	Take attendanceKyla Waltermire	2-3 minutes
→	Review agenda for changes and additions—ALL	1-2 minutes
→	Approve 2022-3 minutes—ALL	2-3 minutes
→	Advocacy updateMagan or Nanette	5-10 minutes
	◆	
→	Report out from ILA Exec Board–Jeanne Hamilton	2 minutes
→	Federal update–Diane Foote	5-10 minutes
	◆	
→	State update—Derek Blaida, Diane Foote & others	45-60 minutes

- Broadband update
 - •
- E-book legislation
 - •
- → New business
 - PPC bestows the <u>Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award</u>. Please consider who you might like to see nominated. Ideally, PPC is the body that decides the winner from among nominations from the field. If there are no nominations from the field, PPC can identify its own winner. Deadline is May 15.
 - PPC/Legislative Timeline
 - We have certainly discovered that the will exists to ensure funded universal library service across the state. As we consider 2022-23 legislative proposals, we encourage you to focus on initiatives that would reduce the number of unserved areas and residents.

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers

May 2, 2022Nikeda WebbJune 6, 2022Catherine Yanikoski

All meetings are at 1 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another PPC voting member.

HTTPS://US02WEB.ZOOM.US/J/87093884885; 312.626.6799; MEETING ID: 870 9388 4885

PPC Resources:

General committee info (includes past minutes & upcoming meeting dates)

ILA info on recent federal legislative work

ILA info on recent state legislative work

Creating or changing Illinois state library law

Legislative proposal form