ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

ILA committee meetings are open to ILA members as guest observers. If you would like to attend this meeting as a guest, please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote at dfoote@ila.org.

2022-2-7 Agenda	Minutes taken by Donna Schaal
<u>Voting Members</u>	Ex officio Members
Sam Adams-Lanham – Barrington Area Library	Suzanne Arist or Betsy Mahoney
Brian Chase – Normal Public Library	Intellectual Freedom Committee
Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka Northfield Public	Derek Blaida – ILA Legislative Consultant
Library District	Deirdre Brennan – Reaching Across Illinois Library
Melissa Gardner – Palatine Public Library District	System (RAILS)
Ryan Livergood – Warren-Newport Public Library	Elizabeth Clarage – Consortium of Academic &
District	Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
Rebecca Malinowski – Cooperative Computer	Veronica De Fazio – Plainfield Public Library District-
Services	ILA Past President
Daniel Matthews – Moraine Valley Community	Nanette Donohue – Champaign Public Library-
College Library	Advocacy Committee
Dee Anna Phares – Northern Illinois University	Diane Foote – ILA Executive Director
Libraries	Jeanne Hamilton – Bloomington Public Library- ILA
Donna Schaal – Argenta-Oreana Public Library	President
District	Heather Jagman - DePaul University- ILA President-
Kyla Waltermire – Mississippi Valley District Library	
Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library	Lou Ann Jacobs – Association of Illinois School
Catherine Yanikoski - Engineering Systems, Inc	Library Educators (AISLE)
	Greg McCormick – Illinois State Library
	Patrick Molloy – Chicago Public Library
	Ellen Popit – Illinois Heartland Library System (ILHS)
	Magan Szwarek – Schaumburg Township District
	Library- Advocacy Committee
lateradustics of superts	
Introduction of guests	
Item & member responsible	Time allotted
→ Take attendanceDonna Schaal	2-3 minutes
→ Review agenda for changes and additions—ALL	1-2 minutes
→ Approve 2022-1 minutes—ALL	2-3 minutes
→ Advocacy updateMagan or Nanette	10-15 minutes
 Legislative Meet-Ups (<u>more info</u> and <u>re</u> 	gister—three remaining!)
→ Report out from ILA Exec Board—Jeanne	5 minutes
→ Federal update	3 - 5 minutes
◆ Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act	(IIJA): will revisit during Broadband discussion, below
→ State updateDerek Blaida & Diane Foote	45-60 minutes

ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

- ◆ How to view what's happening with specific legislation
- ◆ <u>ILA Bill Synopsis Report</u> FYI—I annotated the bills we will discuss. **To access the PDF sticky notes, either** preview the file or download it as a PDF. Opening it as a Google doc breaks the formatting.
- Broadband update
 - Governor's budget address
 - IIJA statement of interest
 - Pending tasks:
- ◆ E-book legislation
 - Progress! :-)
 - Maryland law v. American Association of Publishers
 - o Jan 31: AAP Reply
 - Feb 3: Md. says "regulat(ing) trade, not copyright"
 - Pending tasks:
- → New business
 - ◆ PPC bestows the <u>Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award</u>. Please start considering candidates. Deadline is May 15.

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers

March 7, 2022 Dee Anna Phares
April 4, 2022 Kyla Waltermire
May 2, 2022 Nikeda Webb
June 6, 2022 Catherine Yanikoski

All meetings are at 1 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another PPC voting member.

HTTPS://US02WEB.ZOOM.US/J/87093884885; 312.626.6799; MEETING ID: 870 9388 4885

PPC Resources:

General committee info (includes past minutes & upcoming meeting dates)

ILA info on recent federal legislative work

ILA info on recent state legislative work

Creating or changing Illinois state library law

Legislative proposal form