ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

ILA committee meetings are open to ILA members as observers. If you would like to attend this meeting, please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote at dfoote@ila.org.

2021-12-06 Agenda

<u>Voting Members</u>	Ex officio Members
Sam Adams-Lanham – Barrington Area Library	Suzanne Arist or Betsy Mahoney
Brian Chase – Normal Public Library	Intellectual Freedom Committee
Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka Northfield Public	Derek Blaida – ILA Legislative Consultant
Library District	Deirdre Brennan – Reaching Across Illinois Library
Melissa Gardner – Palatine Public Library District	System (RAILS)
Ryan Livergood – Warren-Newport Public Library	Elizabeth Clarage – Consortium of Academic &
District	Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
Rebecca Malinowski – Cooperative Computer	Veronica De Fazio – Plainfield Public Library District-
Services	ILA Past President
Daniel Matthews – Moraine Valley Community	Nanette Donohue – Champaign Public Library-
College Library	Advocacy Committee
Dee Anna Phares – Northern Illinois University	Diane Foote – ILA Executive Director
Libraries	Jeanne Hamilton – Bloomington Public Library- ILA
Donna Schaal – Argenta-Oreana Public Library	President
District	Heather Jagman - DePaul University- ILA President-
Kyla Waltermire – Mississippi Valley District Library	Elect
Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library	Lou Ann Jacobs – Association of Illinois School
Catherine Yanikoski - Engineering Systems, Inc	Library Educators (AISLE)
	Greg McCormick – Illinois State Library
	Patrick Molloy – Chicago Public Library
	Ellen Popit – Illinois Heartland Library System (ILHS)
	Magan Szwarek – Schaumburg Township District
	Library- Advocacy Committee
Introduction of guests	

Introduction of guests

Item & member responsible

- Take attendance--Monica Dombrowski
- Review agenda for changes and additions—ALL
- Approve 2021-11 minutes—ALL
- Advocacy update--Magan or Nanette
 - o Legislative Meet-Ups
 - o Ready, Set, Advocate
 - o Advocacy assistance for ILA legislative priorities
- State update--Derek Blaida & Diane Foote
 - o Passed legislation
 - OER, PIRG, appoint ILA member to committee

Time allotted

2-3 minutes

1-2 minutes

20 minutes

2-3 minutes

10-15 minutes

ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

- Minority-owned businesses law
- Pending legislation
 - Best value bidder
 - Library board vacancies
 - State funding tied to staffing numbers
- Federal (& other states) update

10 minutes

- o Iowa Library Assoc. Intellectual Freedom statement
- Report out from ILA Exec Board-Jeanne

5 minutes

Report out from broadband & e-book teams

40 minutes

- Current draft will be shared in meeting
- New business

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers

January 10, 2022 Rebecca Malinowski
February 7 (may change) Dee Anna Phares
March 7, 2022 Donna Schaal
April 4, 2022 Kyla Waltermire
May 2, 2022 Nikeda Webb
June 6, 2022 Catherine Yanikoski

All meetings are at 1 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another PPC voting member.

HTTPS://US02WEB.ZOOM.US/J/87093884885; 312.626.6799; MEETING ID: 870 9388 4885

PPC Resources:

General committee info (includes past minutes & upcoming meeting dates)

ILA info on recent federal legislative work

ILA info on recent state legislative work

Creating or changing Illinois state library law

Legislative proposal form