ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

ILA committee meetings are open to members of the Association. If you are a member and would like to attend, please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote for the login in formation at dfoote@ila.org

2021-11-01 Agenda	Minutes taken by Melissa Gardner
Voting Members	Suzanne Arist or Betsy Mahoney
Sam Adams-Lanham – Barrington Area Library	Intellectual Freedom Committee
Brian Chase – Normal Public Library	Derek Blaida – ILA Legislative Consultant
Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka Northfield Public	Deirdre Brennan – Reaching Across Illinois Library
Library District	System (RAILS)
Melissa Gardner – Palatine Public Library District	Elizabeth Clarage – Consortium of Academic &
Ryan Livergood – Warren-Newport Public Library	Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
District	Veronica De Fazio – Plainfield Public Library District-
Rebecca Malinowski – Cooperative Computer	ILA Past President
Services	Nanette Donohue – Champaign Public Library-
Daniel Matthews – Moraine Valley Community	Advocacy Committee
College Library	Diane Foote – ILA Executive Director
Dee Anna Phares – Northern Illinois University	Jeanne Hamilton – Bloomington Public Library- ILA
Libraries	President
Donna Schaal – Argenta-Oreana Public Library	Heather Jagman - DePaul University- ILA President-
District	Elect
Kyla Waltermire – Mississippi Valley District Library	Lou Ann Jacobs – Association of Illinois School
Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library	Library Educators (AISLE)
Catherine Yanikoski - Engineering Systems, Inc	Greg McCormick – Illinois State Library
	Patrick Molloy – Chicago Public Library
	Ellen Popit – Illinois Heartland Library System (ILHS)
	Magan Szwarek – Schaumburg Township District
	Library- Advocacy Committee

Ex officio Members

Introduction of guests

	Item & member responsible	Tim	e allotted
٠	Take attendanceMelissa Gardner	r 2-3	minutes
٠	Review agenda for changes and ac	ditions—ALL 1-2	minutes
٠	Approve 2021-10 minutes—ALL	(will update w/link)	2-3 minutes
٠	Report out from Advocacy	5-10) minutes
	0		
	0		
٠	New business		
	 Discussion of director con- regarding public notice co. 		ninutes

ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE

	 RAILS Board statement on universal library service-Dee 	10 minutes
•	State update (Derek Blaida)	15 minutes
•	 Report out from ILA Exec Board-Jeanne on legislative priorities 	10 minutes
•	Working time: info on broadband & e-books; form sub-committees to work on above proposals	40 minutes

form sub-committees to work on above proposals <u>Connect Illinois broadband expansion info</u>. <u>Connect Illinois Strategic Plan</u> <u>Copyright Office response to MD e-book law</u> ALA webinar: <u>E-books for All: From State Advocacy to National</u> <u>Policy</u> (this is an hour long; we do not expect all of y'all to watch it)

Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers

December 6, 2021	Monica Dombrowski
January 10, 2022	Rebecca Malinowski
February 7 (may change)	Dee Anna Phares
March 7, 2022	Donna Schaal
April 4, 2022	Kyla Waltermire
May 2, 2022	Nikeda Webb
June 6, 2022	Catherine Yanikoski

All meetings are at 1 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another PPC voting member.

HTTPS://USO2WEB.ZOOM.US/J/87093884885; 312.626.6799; MEETING ID: 870 9388 4885

PPC Resources:

General committee info (includes past minutes & upcoming meeting dates)

ILA info on recent federal legislative work

ILA info on recent state legislative work

Creating or changing Illinois state library law

Legislative proposal form