## **ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE**

ILA committee meetings are open to ILA members as observers. If you would like to sit in to observe, please contact ILA Executive Director Diane Foote at <a href="mailto:dfoote@ila.org">dfoote@ila.org</a>.

2021-10-01 Agenda	Minutes taken by Ryan Livergood
<u>Voting Members</u>	Suzanne Arist or Betsy Mahoney
Sam Adams-Lanham – Barrington Area Library	Intellectual Freedom Committee
Brian Chase – Normal Public Library	Derek Blaida – ILA Legislative Consultant
Monica Dombrowski – Winnetka Northfield Public	Deirdre Brennan – Reaching Across Illinois Library
Library District	System (RAILS)
Melissa Gardner – Palatine Public Library District	Elizabeth Clarage – Consortium of Academic &
Ryan Livergood – Warren-Newport Public Library	Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
District	Veronica De Fazio – Plainfield Public Library District-
Rebecca Malinowski – Cooperative Computer	ILA Past President
Services	Nanette Donohue – Champaign Public Library-
Daniel Matthews – Moraine Valley Community	Advocacy Committee
College Library	Diane Foote – ILA Executive Director
Dee Anna Phares – Northern Illinois University	Jeanne Hamilton — Bloomington Public Library- ILA
Libraries	President
Donna Schaal – Argenta-Oreana Public Library	Heather Jagman - DePaul University- ILA President-
District	Elect
Kyla Waltermire – Mississippi Valley District Library	Lou Ann Jacobs – Association of Illinois School
Nikeda Webb – Matteson Public Library	Library Educators (AISLE)
Catherine Yanikoski - Engineering Systems, Inc	Greg McCormick – Illinois State Library
	Patrick Molloy – Chicago Public Library
	Ellen Popit – Illinois Heartland Library System (ILHS)
	Magan Szwarek – Schaumburg Township District
	Library- Advocacy Committee
Ex officio Members	
Introduction of guests	
Item & member responsible	<u>Time allotted</u>
Take attendanceRyan Livergood	2-3 minutes
<ul> <li>Review agenda for changes and additions—ALL</li> </ul>	
Approve 2021-8-30 minutes—ALL	2-3 minutes
Report out from Advocacy	5-10 minutes
<ul> <li>Report out from Advocacy</li> <li>Legislative Meet-ups</li> </ul>	2-10 Hillinges
••	5-10 minutes
Federal update (Diane Foote)	2-10 Hillingles
• State undate (Derek Plaids)	1E minutos
State update (Derek Blaida)     "chort & light"	15 minutes
<ul><li>"short &amp; light"</li></ul>	

## **ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION PUBLIC POLICY COMMITTEE**

0

 Report out from ILA Exec Board-Jeanne & Diane 30 minutes on legislative priorities

## Upcoming meeting dates and assigned minutes takers

November 1, 2021 Melissa Gardner
December 6, 2021 Monica Dombrowski
January 10, 2022 Rebecca Malinowski
February 7 (may change) Dee Anna Phares
March 7, 2022 Donna Schaal
April 4, 2022 Kyla Waltermire
May 2, 2022 Nikeda Webb

June 6, 2022 Catherine Yanikowski

All meetings are at 1 PM. In-person meeting locations will rotate; all meetings will also be accessible through Zoom. If you cannot take minutes on your assigned date, please trade with another PPC voting member.

HTTPS://US02WEB.ZOOM.US/J/87093884885; 312.626.6799; MEETING ID: 870 9388 4885

## **PPC Resources:**

General committee info (includes past minutes & upcoming meeting dates)

ILA info on recent federal legislative work

ILA info on recent state legislative work

Creating or changing Illinois state library law

Legislative proposal form