## ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION

**Because Libraries Matter** 

Illinois Library Association 33 W. Grand Ave., Suite 401 Chicago, IL 60654-6799 Phone: 312.644.1896 Fax: 312.644.1899 Email: ila@ila.org

**Press Release** 

Debbie Smart, President of the Board of Library Trustees at the Arlington Heights Memorial Library, is the 2019 Illinois Library Association (ILA) Trustee of the Year Award Recipient. This annual citation is awarded to a public library trustee for achievement, leadership and service to libraries.

Debbie Smart has served as a member of the Library Board of Trustees of the Arlington Heights Memorial Library since 2011. Having served as board president and treasurer, she led a strategic planning process and search for a new executive director, inspired the planning of a new makerspace featuring STEAM programs and entrepreneurial development, and was instrumental in identifying opportunities for revenue sources to supplement property tax support with a library foundation.

Debbie is a constant and vocal supporter of her library, and every library, as the place that brings the community together. She is a volunteer with numerous community organizations, and in 2014, received an award from her municipality for her volunteer service making a difference in the lives of others.

A personal member of ILA, Debbie encourages other board members to join her in learning and networking at ILA and American Library Association (ALA) conferences. She is a member of the Program and Awards Committee for the United for Libraries division of ALA, and presented a program on financial stewardship at the 2019 national ALA conference.

The Trustee of the Year Award will be presented at the Awards Luncheon to be held on Tuesday, October 22, during the 2019 Illinois Library Association Annual Conference in

Tinley Park. The award recipient will also be recognized during the Trustee Day luncheon on Thursday, October 24.

For further information, contact the Illinois Library Association.

For Immediate Release