## **ILLINOIS LIBRARY ASSOCIATION**

Because Libraries Matter

Illinois Library Association 33 W. Grand Ave., Suite 401 Chicago, IL 60654-6799 Phone: 312.644.1896 Fax: 312.644.1899 Email: ila@ila.org

## **Press Release**

Betsy Adamowski, Director of the Wheaton Public Library, is the 2018 recipient of the Illinois Library Association (ILA) Librarian of the Year Award. The award recognizes a librarian's distinguished service and leadership in Illinois Libraries. The award is presented and sponsored by Today's Business Solutions, Inc. (TBS).

Adamowski has worked tirelessly to improve the Wheaton Public Library; creating a business resource center, a coffee shop, a 21<sup>st</sup> century interior remodel vision plan, a community engagement department, and an arts and culture center. In the Wheaton community she has instituted numerous partnerships and is active in the Chamber of Commerce, Rotary, and Lion's Club. She also led her library to win the Wheaton Chamber of Commerce 2017 Large Business of the Year award.

Adamowski has been one of the primary leaders of two major efforts to improve library leadership in Illinois, Directors University and Elevate.

- "Elevate is a statewide library initiative to recruit and nurture future Illinois library leaders. The program is a joint project of Illinois Heartland Library System, the Illinois Library Association, the Illinois State Library, and Reaching Across Illinois Library System."
- Directors University is a "... five-day series of workshops will train public library directors for their new executive roles... Topics for the week include library & employment law, policies, budgeting, board-director relations, leadership, community partnerships, and Illinois State Library and system competencies. "

In addition, she served as the ILA President (2015-2016), on ILA Executive Board (2008-2011), Advocacy Committee (2011-2016) and Chair (2014-2016), Nominating Committee

(2007) and Chair (2014-2016), Public Policy Committee (2011-2013, 2015-2016), Finance Committee (2008-2011, 2014-2016), Conference Committee (2008, 2010, 2015), Reaching Forward Committee (2012-2016), Marketing Committee Liaison (2008-2009), Website Subcommittee (2007), Best Practices Committee (2004-2006) and Chair (2006) and IREAD Committee (1994-1997).

The Librarian of the Year Award will be presented at the Awards Luncheon to be held on Tuesday, October 9, during the 2018 Illinois Library Association Annual Conference in Peoria. The luncheon starts at 12:00 noon.

For further information, contact the Illinois Library Association.

For Immediate Release