Illinois Library Association 33 W. Grand Ave., Ste. 401 Chicago, IL 60654-6799 Phone: 312.644.1896 Fax: 312.644.1899 Email: ila@ila.org

Illinois Library Association

Press Release

Dennis Krieb, Director of Institutional Research and Library Services at Lewis and Clark Community College in Godfrey, Illinois, is the 2015 recipient of the Illinois Library Association Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award.

The award, presented by the ILA IACRL Forum, recognizes an Illinois librarian who is making an outstanding statewide contribution to academic or research librarianship and to library development. The award is sponsored by the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois.

Dennis has been heavily involved in a variety of library organizations in Illinois. He has been an ILA and IACRL member since 2000, and has just been elected as Director-at-Large of the ILA Executive Board. He is a past president of the Southern Illinois Learning Resources Cooperative (SILRC), a not-for-profit corporation composed of members representing institutions of higher learning and library systems in the Southern Illinois area, and he is a past-President of the Board of the Wood River (IL) Public Library.

Most recently, Dennis has served on the Board of Directors of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) since 2011. During his tenure on the CARLI board, Dennis has been involved in launching the search for a next generation library management system for I-Share, as well as a patron-driven acquisition pilot project for e-books that extends participation to non-I-Share libraries.

His commitment to Illinois Libraries is noted not only in service but also in his own education. As a student, he attended Lewis and Clark Community College, Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville, and his dissertation (from the University of Nebraska – Lincoln), "Academic Library Directors' Perceptions of Joining a Large Library Consortium Sharing an Integrated Library System," relied on information that he gathered from CARLI libraries, specifically about their decisions on whether or not to participate in I-Share.

Throughout his career, and regardless of his role, Dennis has strived to create library communities that promote open access for all patrons and provide exceptional levels of service. As stated in his nomination form, "Dennis is a tireless advocate for Illinois academic libraries of all sizes, with a demonstrated deep respect for and commitment to sustaining and enhancing Illinois' rich tradition of cooperation and collaboration."

The Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award will be presented at the Awards Gala held on Friday evening, October 23rd, during the 2015 Illinois Library Conference in Peoria.

For further information, contact the Illinois Library Association.